Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

HIST 3072 (special collections): PRIMARY SOURCES: in UGA special collections

How to Search Guides and Resources

A detailed overview of special collections departments, contacts for human assistance, and research guides is available at https://www.libs.uga.edu/scl/research

 

Search for documents, photographs, maps, books, broadsides, and more

To search for letters, diaries, reports, news clippings, drafts of legislation, photographs, petitions, and more in the Hargrett Library and the Russell Library visit the Hargrett Russell Finding Aids Gateway

To search for books, periodicals, maps, broadsides, other published materials visit the Special Collections Gil Gateway 

Hargrett Rare Books and Manuscripts Library

Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies

The Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies was established in 1974 by the Richard B. Russell Foundation, Inc., Georgia General Assembly, and Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. The Library’s original mission was to collect and preserve materials documenting the life and career of Richard B. Russell, Jr., United States Senator from Georgia from 1933 to 1971. The Library's holdings have since expanded to include approximately 500 manuscript collections and more than 1,000 oral history interviews documenting modern (1900-present) politics and public policy in Georgia and an array of issues related to the American political system. The Russell Library enjoys a national reputation as one of the largest and foremost repositories for modern congressional papers.

Walter J Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection

The Walter J. Brown Media Archive & Peabody Awards Collection was started in 1995 and currently preserves over 250,000 titles in film, video, audiotape, transcription disks, and other recording formats dating from the 1920s to the present. Our mission is to preserve, protect, and provide access to the moving image and sound materials that reflect the collective memory of broadcasting and the history of the state of Georgia and its people.