Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips and Tricks
Doing some secondary source research as you begin looking at primary sources will help the primary sources make more sense. These sources will give you context or a framework for understanding the primary sources you explore and give you an idea of what historians and scholars from other disciplines think about the issues are exploring. Your primary sources may lead you to challenge the conclusions of these scholars, and that's fine. You are doing history!
- Check out e-books as well as online articles, or request scans of print books or print journal articles.
- Keep a list of key players involved in events related to to your topic.
- Keep a list of key events and dates.
- Make note of nicknames, slang terms, alternative forms of names related to your topic.
- Put this list on a laptop, phone or other device so you can have ready access to it.
Online--Secondary Sources Available via the Internet
GALILEO : collection of over 400 research databases, including:
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes the Georgia Historical Quarterly 1955-present and seven other Georgia historical journals (dates vary).
- JSTOR core journals in many fields from their first issue (dating to the 1700s in some cases) to 3-5 years ago
- The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.
- ProjectMuse a full-text journal database for over 100 journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Galileo Login information
E-Books at UGA
You can view ebooks on computers and mobile devices. To access ebooks from off campus you will be prompted to log in with your UGA MyID.
To do the best research don't limit yourself to ebooks. We have millions of print books, but only thousands of ebooks.
You can find ebooks in GIL-Find (the book catalog) or in MultiSearch (books & journal articles).
Ebooks come from a few different providers. When you click on a link to an ebook, the 'look' of the page will vary depending on which provider it came from.
If another UGA user is reading the ebook online or has downloaded it, you may receive a message that the ebook is in use and you will not be able to access it for a period of time. This is like when a print book has been checked out from the library. You can try again later.
You can read ebooks while you are online. See the other tabs in this guide for help with downloading chapters of ebooks or entire ebooks offline.
Request scans of print books or print journals