Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anti-racism

This LibGuide is intended to provide resources to understand and research the structural inequities and systemic racism that have impacted BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, and People of Color)

Georgia and the University of Georgia

Georgia

Anti-racism research requires understanding the persistence of racial inequality. This includes reviewing history, culture, laws, and society, as well as investigating how structures of racism developed within these contexts. Researchers may need to investigate the historical treatment and exploitation of specific racial groups, such as indigenous native peoples, enslaved Blacks, and immigrant groups. It is also helpful to review racial issues by time period. The New Encyclopedia of Georgia provides an excellent overview of time periods specific to Georgia.

There are several UGA LibGuides and virtural exhibits that look specifically at race and racism at UGA.

History of slavery at the University of Georgia - "Slavery is an integral part of the University of Georgia’s history. While the university itself did not own enslaved people, it did benefit from the institution of slavery by contributing to both the finances and the labor which founded and maintained the campus throughout the antebellum period.

Online exhibits linked in the guide provide insight and describe remarkable lives. From the UGA & Slavery exhibit link:

Lucius Henry Holsey (right) arrived in Athens in 1857, the enslaved carriage driver, house servant, and gardener of Professor R. M. Johnston.... "I determined to learn to read at all hazards," he remembered, "and take whatever risks there might be connected with it." He went on to become bishop of the Colored Methodist Episcopal Church.

Desegregation at UGA: A Guide to the Resources in UGA Special Collections

Until 1961, the University of Georgia--like all Georgia state institutions of higher education--was segregated by both and social forcesOn January 6, 1961, history was made when Judge William Bootle issued a  to UGA that ordered the immediate admission of two African American teenagers, Charlayne Hunter and Hamilton Holmes, and thrust the University into the national spotlight as it navigated controversy, violence, and a path toward a more inclusive future."

Introductory reference books

Book cover image, Jim Crow: A Historical Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic

Primary sources

Special Collections

The UGA Special Collections Libraries house over 5,000 archival and manuscript collections, 200,000 moving images and sound recordings, 250,000 published volumes, and 1,000 oral histories. Searchable resources include: Collections, Exhibits, and Oral history. Some items of specific  interest are the American Civil Liberties Union of Georgia Records, and the Charlayne Hunter-Gault Papers.

Gil-FIND Catalog

Limits can be used to better identify primary source. Try using Format to find specific sources, and Date Range to find sources from the period you're searching.

Format and Date limits in Gil-FIND

Related Resources

Digital Library of Georgia Civil Rights and Anti-racism resources

This PDF contains links to Georgia Civil Rights collections available freely online through the Digital Library of Georgia website, including: DLG Georgia Civil Rights Collections, Georgia Historic Newspapers, and Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Resource Sets and Exhibits.

Schomburg Center Black Liberation Reading List: Georgia Review & UGA Press

More than two dozen publications by the Georgia Review and the UGA Press, units of the University of Georgia Libraries, have been included in a free, open source database intended to help readers in further understanding issues of anti-racism and racial justice.

African-American Studies : GALILEO Databases

Listing of relevant databases and contact information for the librarian liaison for history and African-American studies.

Multiculturalism guide COMING SOON