Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

Schomburg Center Black Liberation Reading List: Georgia Review & UGA Press

Georgia Review and UGA Press Publications Included in Racial Justice Writings Database

More than two dozen publications by the Georgia Review and the UGA Press, units of the University of Georgia Libraries, were included in a free, open source database intended to help readers in further understanding issues of anti-racism and racial justice.

The database from JSTOR, an online library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, served as a companion to the New York Public Library Schomburg Center’s Black Liberation Reading List, a collection of 95 fiction and nonfiction titles that range from memoirs, biographies, and essays to books of poetry, short stories, and graphic novels.

The JSTOR listing includes 12 poems and essays published in The Georgia Review, a nationally acclaimed literary-cultural journal, as well as 20 individual book chapters published by the UGA Press.

Although the JSTOR free content ended December 31, 2021, the UGA Libraries have access through our database subscriptions and book/ebook collections. Links below are restricted to current UGA students, faculty, and staff.

Schomburg Book	Excerpts and Related Writings
The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison	"The Worlds that Toni Morrison Made" by Trudier Harris (Georgia Review) "Nobel Lecture 7 December 1993" (Georgia Review) "Temporal Liminality in Toni Morrison's Beloved and A Mercy" by Kristen Lillvis. In Posthuman Blackness and the Black Female Imagination (University of Georgia Press). "Black Boys, White Gaze: A Respectful Publication of The Bluest Eye" by Susan Neal Mayberry. In Can't I Love What I Criticize? The Masculine and Morrison (University of Georgia Press). "Hands beyond the Grave: Henry Dumas’s Influence on Toni Morrison" by Trudier Harris-Lopez. In South of Tradition: Essays on African American Literature (University of Georgia Press).
Brown: Poems by Kevin Young	"Lightening" (Georgia Review) "Player Piano" (Georgia Review) "Jaundice" (Georgia Review)
The Collected Poems of Lucille Clifton, 1965-2010	"cutting greens." In Cornbread Nation 7: The Best of Southern Food Writing (University of Georgia Press).
The History of White People by Nell Irvin Painter	"Forming a “Sisterhood Chain”: Women, Emancipation, and Freedom Celebrations in Tennessee" by Antoinette G. Van Zelm and Beverly Greene Bond. In Tennessee Women: Their Lives and Times (University of Georgia Press).
In Search of Our Mothers' Gardens by Alice Walker	"Uncle Remus, No Friend of Mine" (Georgia Review) "'I Know What the Earth Says': From an Interview with Alice Walker" by William R. Ferris (Georgia Review)
Playing in the Dark: Whiteness and the Literary Imagination by Toni Morrison	"Introduction [Toni Morrison]" (Georgia Review)
A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry	"Where Do We Go From Here? The Implications of Black Intellectual History in the Modern South" by Robert Greene II. In Navigating Souths: Transdisciplinary Explorations of a U.S. Region (University of Georgia Press). "An Uncommon Faith: Rereading W.E.B. Du Bois on Religion" by Eddie S. Glaude. In Uncommon Faith: A Pragmatic Approach to the Study of African American Religion (University of Georgia Press). "Watching Television with Ossie and Ruby" by Allison Perlman. In Television History, the Peabody Archive, and Cultural Memory (University of Georgia Press).
Stony the Road: Reconstruction, White Supremacy, and the Rise of Jim Crow by Henry Louis Gates, Jr.	"Wole Soyinka: Mythopoesis and the Agon of Democracy" (Georgia Review)
The Street by Ann Petry	"Jim Crow, Jr.: Lorraine Hansberry’s Late Segregation Revisions and Toni Morrison’s Early Post–Civil Rights Ambivalence" by Brian Norman. In Neo-Segregation Narratives: Jim Crow in Post-Civil Rights American Literature (University of Georgia Press). "Architecture as Destiny?: Women and Survival Strategies in Ann Petry’s The Street" by Trudier Harris-Lopez. In South of Tradition: Essays on African American Literature (University of Georgia Press).
Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston	"The Extended South of Black Folk: Intraregional and Transnational Migrant Labor in the Writing of Zora Neale Hurston" by Martyn Bone. In Where the New World Is: Literature about the U.S. South at Global Scales (University of Georgia Press). "Workings of the Spirit, Spirit of the Workers: Migration, Labor, and the Extended Caribbean in Erna Brodber’s Louisiana" by Martyn Bone. In Where the New World Is: Literature about the U.S. South at Global Scales (University of Georgia Press). "'Come and Gaze on a Mystery': Zora Neale Hurston’s Rain-Bringing Authority" by Keith Cartwright. In Sacral Grooves, Limbo Gateways: Travels in Deep Southern Time, Circum-Caribbean Space, Afro-creole Authority (University of Georgia Press).
The Tradition by Jericho Brown	"Riddle" (Georgia Review)
Voyage of the Sable Venus and Other Poems by Robin Coste Lewis	"Review: Voyage of the Sable Venus" by Claire Schwartz (Georgia Review)
The Ways of White Folks by Langston Hughes	"Soul Food? What Is That?" In Cornbread Nation 7: The Best of Southern Food Writing (University of Georgia Press). "High Fidelity on the Black Atlantic: Rocking Out with Langston Hughes and Nick Hornby" by Jurgen E. Grandt. In Gettin' Around: Jazz, Script, Transnationalism (University of Georgia Press). "Epilogue" by Carmaletta M. Williams and John Edgar Tidwell. In My Dear Boy: Carrie Hughes's Letters to Langston Hughes, 1926-1938 (University of Georgia Press).
Where Do We Go From Here? Chaos or Community by Martin Luther King, Jr.	"Pieces toward a Just Whole" by Lauret Edith Savoy (Georgia Review) "Martin Luther King, Jr. (1929–1968)" by John A. Kirk. In The New Georgia Encyclopedia Companion to Georgia Literature (University of Georgia Press). "Things Are Stirring" by David S. Williams. In From Mounds to Megachurches: Georgia's Religious Heritage (University of Georgia Press). "1968" by Harold H. Martin. In Atlanta and Environs: A Chronicle of Its People and Events, 1940s-1970s (University of Georgia Press) From Reclaiming the Great World House: The Global Vision of Martin Luther King Jr. (University of Georgia Press): "Sexism in the World House: Women and the Global Vision of Martin Luther King Jr." by Crystal A. Degregory and Lewis V. Baldwin. "Plenty Good Room: Martin Luther King Jr.'s Vision of the World House and the Ethical Question of Global Leadership" by Walter E. Fluker. "The Rising Significance of Class: The Haves and the Have-Nots in the World House" by Nimi Wariboko. "Martin Luther King Jr. and the Nonviolent Transformation of Global Conflict" by Mary E. King. "Embracing Difference: Martin Luther King Jr.'s World House Vision as a Teaching Resource for Women and Queer Liberation" by Amy E. Steele, Vicki L. Crawford, and Lewis V. Baldwin. "All Over the World Like a Fever: Martin Luther King Jr.'s World House and the Movement for Black Lives in the United States and United Kingdom" by Michael B. McCormack and Althea Legal-Miller. "The World as A 'Single Neighborhood': The Global Ethics of Martin Luther King, Jr." by Hak Joon Lee. "Toward a Higher Global Ideal: Martin Luther King Jr., the World House, and the Challenges of Tomorrow" by Lewis V. Baldwin. "For the Beauty of the World: Vision and Moral Order in Martin Luther King Jr.'s World House" by Victor Anderson and Teresa Delgado. "The Scourge of the Color Bar: Racism as a Barrier to Human Community" by Larry O. Rivers. "For the Least of These: The Scandal of Poverty in the World House" by Gary S. Selby.

Schomburg Center Black Liberation Reading List: Georgia Review & UGA Press

Schomburg Book

Excerpts and Related Writings