It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Religion: GALILEO Databases
This guide provides a list of major library resources for the study of religion.
Index to articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology.
ATLA Religion Database covers world religions, Biblical studies, church history and religious perspectives on social issues. The database creates bibliographic citations for articles in 650 journals, essays and selected multi-author works. Subject coverage includes ethics, history of religions, church and state, religious education, liturgy, denominations, cults and sects, hermeneutics and methodology, war and religion, science and religion, and literature and religion. Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA).
Electronic version of the classic, 16-volume Encyclopedia of Religion, considered the standard, scholarly encyclopedia for the study of religion and religious beliefs worldwide.
This second, electronic edition presents a cross-cultural approach emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors. Long, signed articles from over 1,400 contributors address all aspects of religion, from doctrines, myths and theologies to ethics, cults, sacraments, and more. Includes a comprehensive index and synoptic outline of contents, and each article is followed by a bibliography for further research. The print version of this online edition is available in the Main Library Reference Room: BL31 .E46 2005.
Index to journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim World, from 1906 to the present.
Index Islamicus The Index Islamicus online database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. Browsable indexes are available for the following fields: author, descriptors, journal name, personal name, publication type, and review author.
Access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. Temporary access to additional journals and primary sources (through December 31, 2020).
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Proquest Religion Database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions.
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.