Religion: Islam

Index Islamicus The Index Islamicus online database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. Browsable indexes are available for the following fields: author, descriptors, journal name, personal name, publication type, and review author.

The Encyclopaedia of Islam is the most authoritative reference source for understanding Islam and the Islamic world. The online encyclopedia includes both the second and third editions as well as all maps from The Historical Atlas of Islam. The second edition was published between 1960 and 2005 and includes articles on individuals, tribes and dynasties, geography and topography, cities and towns, political and religious institutions, sciences, arts, monuments, and the flora and fauna of the Islamic world throughout history. The second edition is also available in print in the Main Library Reference collection. The third edition began publishing in 2007 and consists of entirely new content focusing on Islam in the 20th century as well as Muslim minorities worldwide. New entries are added quarterly.

This multi-disciplinary work covers all aspects of Islam and its influence on human culture and society from antiquity to the present day. More than 500 entries written by experts and scholars from around the world and across disciplines address Islamic life, from political parties, reform and revolution to culture, art, belief and practices. Each entry includes cross-references and a bibliography, and volumes are fully illustrated with photographs, timelines, illustrations, and maps. Print version of this edition is available in the Main Library Reference Room: BP40 .E525 2004.

ATLA Religion Database covers world religions, Biblical studies, church history and religious perspectives on social issues. The database creates bibliographic citations for articles in 650 journals, essays and selected multi-author works. Subject coverage includes ethics, history of religions, church and state, religious education, liturgy, denominations, cults and sects, hermeneutics and methodology, war and religion, science and religion, and literature and religion. Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA).

This second, electronic edition presents a cross-cultural approach emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors. Long, signed articles from over 1,400 contributors address all aspects of religion, from doctrines, myths and theologies to ethics, cults, sacraments, and more. Includes a comprehensive index and synoptic outline of contents, and each article is followed by a bibliography for further research. The print version of this online edition is available in the Main Library Reference Room: BL31 .E46 2005.

Built on some earlier core bibliographies for the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, such as the School of Oriental and African Studies Library Catalogue, Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies covers primarily journal articles and books on a mixture of humanities and social science topics, including anthropology, history, economics, international relations and political science.