Index to social sciences and humanities research on the Far East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Bibliography of Asian Studies covers all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia with an emphasis on the social sciences and humanities. Citations are primarily from western-language journals, books, conference proceedings, and anthologies. Provided by the Association for Asian Studies, Inc.
A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. Since much of what East Asian Buddhists have written about is the Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet, the content of this database/dictionary/encyclopedia/translation glossary is pan-Buddhist in character. Includes Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Sanskrit, Pali, and Tibetan terms. Includes more than 35,000 entries; also includes references to core reference sources.
Index to articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology.
ATLA Religion Database covers world religions, Biblical studies, church history and religious perspectives on social issues. The database creates bibliographic citations for articles in 650 journals, essays and selected multi-author works. Subject coverage includes ethics, history of religions, church and state, religious education, liturgy, denominations, cults and sects, hermeneutics and methodology, war and religion, science and religion, and literature and religion. Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA).
Full-text journal articles from selected sources (mostly American and in English), with good coverage for Religion and Ancient History, and excellent historical coverage (to the foundation of the journals); has a 5-year delay for most titles.
Electronic version of the classic, 16-volume Encyclopedia of Religion, considered the standard, scholarly encyclopedia for the study of religion and religious beliefs worldwide.
This second, electronic edition presents a cross-cultural approach emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors. Long, signed articles from over 1,400 contributors address all aspects of religion, from doctrines, myths and theologies to ethics, cults, sacraments, and more. Includes a comprehensive index and synoptic outline of contents, and each article is followed by a bibliography for further research. The print version of this online edition is available in the Main Library Reference Room: BL31 .E46 2005.
From 1988-current issue. Also available for free online: http://www.shin-ibs.edu/academics/_pwj/index.php
Sacred Texts & Primary Sources
Call Number Range: BQ 1100 - 3340: Tripitaka (canonical literature)
Unlike Judaism, Islam, or Christianity, Buddhism has no single authoritative book; there are multiple Buddhist canons in multiple languages. Consult individual Buddhism reference sources to learn more about the Indic, Tibetan, Chinese, and other Buddhist canons and to find recommendations for particular Buddhist texts.
Below is a small selection of online and print texts.
Projected to reach some 500 books over the next century, the Murty Classical Library of India is to encompass poetry and prose, history and philosophy, Buddhist, Muslim, and Hindu texts. Volumes will include not only Sanskrit texts but also works in Bangla, Hindi, Kannada, Marathi, Persian, Prakrit, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu and other languages.
The Sacred Books of the East (SBE) series, comprising fifty volumes, was issued by the Oxford University Press between 1879 and 1910. It has translations of key sacred texts of Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism, Zoroastrianism, Jainism, and Islam. The series was edited by linguist and scholar of comparative religion, Max Müller. Available in print in the library and online via the Internate Sacred Text Archive (http://www.sacred-texts.com/sbe/)
GILFind (http://gilfind.uga.edu) - Search our local catalog for books, DVD's, etcetera. Use Library of Congress Subject Headings to help you discover books and expand your search, for example:
Buddhism
Zen Buddhism.
Mahayana Buddhism.
Buddhist literature
Buddhism > India.
Buddhism > China > Tibet Autonomous Region.
Gautama Buddha.
etcetera, etcetera
Reference Resources
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell; Donald S. Lopez
Call Number: Online E-Book
ISBN: 9781400848058
Publication Date: 2013
"This encyclopedic dictionary by Buswell (UCLA) and Lopez (Univ. of Michigan) has over 5,000 entries varying in length from a paragraph to a full page, and the authors acknowledge that "this is the largest dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in the English language." The dictionary covers figures, works, and terminology across a range of traditions and languages, including the canonical languages--Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean--as well as some Southeast Asian languages. Entries for English translations of Buddhist terms, such as nonduality, provide cross-references to the original term. The dictionary also includes maps, a list of Asian historical periods, and a time line of Buddhism, each broken down by country." Choice
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell (Editor)
Call Number: Main Ref BQ128 .E62 2004
ISBN: 0028657187
Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Charles S. Prebish, et al.
Call Number: BQ128 .E53 2007
ISBN: 9780415314145
A complete up-to-date one-volume desk reference, documenting the history, doctrines, schools, rituals, sacred places, basic ideas and concepts, and globalization of the entire Buddhist tradition. In addition, it provides bibliographic references to the leading scholarship by scholar from around the world.
A Dictionary of Buddhism by Damien Keown
Call Number: Main Ref BQ130 .K46 2003
ISBN: 0198605609
With over 2,000 wide-ranging entries, this dictionary is the most up-to-date and comprehensive reference of its kind. Written by a leading expert in the field and incorporating research by regional specialists, this dictionary covers both historical and contemporary issues in Buddhism and includes all Buddhist schools and cultures
Buddhism: a Very Short Introduction by Damien Keown
Call Number: BQ4022 .K46 2013
ISBN: 9780199663835
Publication Date: 2013
In this new edition of the Very Short Introduction to Buddhism, Damien Keown looks at how the tradition began and how it evolved into its present-day form. Explaining its central teachings and practices as well as key topics such as karma and rebirth, meditation and ethics, Keown also includes updates related to the evolution of Buddhism within Asia and the West, the importance of material culture, and the ethics of war and peace.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen by Shambhala
