Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion: Home

This guide provides a list of major library resources for the study of religion.

Welcome

This guide provides an overview of resources for the study of Religion.  Please contact your librarian, Emily Luken, if you have questions or need research help.

Sarasa with Small Rosettes
Metropolitan Museum of Art

Chicago Manual of Style [online]

The Chicago Manual of Style Online includes the searchable full text of this major style guide's 15th and 16th editions.

The database has two additional sections: a Q&A with frequently asked or particularly difficult questions, and a Tools section with guidelines for manuscript preparation, a list of proofreading marks, and a quick guide offering basic examples of Chicago documentation style. 

UGA Libraries - Basics

Research Help

  • Contact me directly! Email Emily Luken (ehopkins@uga.edu) with questions or to set up a research appointment.
  • Chat with a librarian online at http://www.libs.uga.edu/chat 
  • Walk up help at the Main and Science Libraries and on the 3rd floor of the Miller Learning Center (SLC). 

 

UGA Libraries Website - Everything under one URL including the very helpful "Chat with a Librarian" service. Use the chat service to ask us questions about anything - what database or keywords to use, how to get an article or book, etc. 

GILFind - Our local catalog. Search GILFind to locate books, DVDs, and other items in our campus Libraries. 

Multisearch - Huge interdisciplinary database to find scholarly articles, news, stats, books, and more. A great place to start your search. 


Libraries Hours & Directions

If you're looking for quiet study space: The upper floors of both the Main Library and the Science Library are good spots for quiet study, particularly the 3rd floor Reading Room in Main and the 4th floor silent Think Tank in Science. The Reading Room (3rd floor East side) and the 4th floor of the Miller Learning Center are set aside for quiet study.

If you're looking for group study space: Half of the Main Library's 4th floor is dedicated to group study, with whiteboard on most of the walls and moveable tables and chairs. The Miller Learning Center has 90 group study rooms that are available first-come, first-served.

Departments

Your Librarian

Emily Luken's picture
Emily Luken
Contact:
Main Library
Collection Development
Email: ehopkins@uga.edu

Online Office Hours:
Classics Department: Wednesdays, 1-2:30pm via Zoom
Philosophy & Religion Departments:
Wednesdays & Thursdays, 2:30-3:30pm via Zoom
By appointment: ehopkins@uga.edu
Website

Chat with a Librarian