Music Searching Tutorial: Part 1: Getting Started

Where and How are two simple questions with somewhat complex answers. Searching for music scores, sound recordings, articles, and and books is complicated by the complex and international nature of music, specifically the foreign languages and spellings involved in music names and titles.

This Music Research Tutorial highlights some of the essential resources listed on the Music Guide and provides strategies for searching.

The library provides access to a variety of database, catalogs, books, sound recordings, videos, etc. which can all be found on or linked from the Library Home Page--the starting point for library research and links to various services. This tutorial is starting with 2 places on the Library Home Page

1. Multi-Search 
2. Databases & Subject Guides.

Both the Search Box and the Databases & Subject guide links have linked menus which display multiple options.

The Search box has 4 search options 1. Multi-Search (which is the default), 2. Books & More, 3. Journals by Title, and 4. Google Scholar +UGA Access

Regardless of which resource(s) you search you should always know what format and/or content is or is not included. In other words you should be able to answer the question...
What is this resource searching? 

Returning to the Library Home page the second option, Databases & Subject Guides, also has a menu with 3 options.

1. Popular Databases lists 5 of the most used resources
2. Database by Name provides an alphabetical list which you can browse (have to know the name of the database you need).
3. Browse by Subject provides a menu for guides which group databases by subject. These guides are creates by UGA Librarians and provide detailed research assistance.

Select Browse by Subject provides list of subject contains additional guides that you could use if your research is across disciplines. For example, if your research involves psychological aspects of music you may want to look at the Psychology guide in addition to the Music Guide. 

Navigating the List: Find and select Music on the subject list and a menu shows there are two guide for music: 

• Music provides various identifies and categorizes online resources to use for music research.
• Music Searching Tutorial (which you are using now) is more about search techniques and strategies.

Every subject guide has the same basic format for the opening page. 

1. A navigation bar at the top with multiple tabs and the Galileo Databases tab open.
2. The first box on the right is Best Bets which contains a couple databases that are good places to start for most research
3. The box below is the All Music Databases lists music specific databases. 

The other tabs across the top vary from guide to guide and are customized for each subject. For music the tabs are organized so users can navigate to various types of databases for various formats: Articles, Books & Dissertations, Encyclopedias, etc. 

Some tabs include databases that are not music specific resources but are useful for research but are not specifically music databases.

For example, the tab for 'Books & Dissertations' lists the GIL the UGA Library Catalog but also provides links to GIL Express for searching other public universities in Georgia, and WorldCat which searches library catalogs worldwide so you can find items we don't have which may be requested via Interlibrary Loan. The tabs and pages follow the same organization.

• A list of resources is presented in the left column
•  Tips for using the resources is in the right column

Here is a visual and summary of the 3 areas discussed so far.

Not Surprisingly, the answer to where to search may be different each search and depends on what you need at the time.

1. Material Format - books, articles, scores, audio, video, etc. 
2. Subject Area - music may be the primary area, but questions are cross-disciplinary and you may need to look at education, psychology, history, religion, dance, theater, gender studies, pop culture/anthropology, etc.
3. Goals - 
   • Locate an item (score, book, recording, etc.) - a simpler question.
   • Write a brief paper or complete a short project.
   • Write a thesis, dissertation, scholarly article.

With that said, there are numerous times during the semester or year when you are searching for scores or books and you should quickly learn the best way to find scores. Learning the wide range of resources that are needed for a dissertation will take more time. Regardless of the search you are doing you will realize 2 things through this guide and your personal experience searching. 1. Research is a process 2. Multiple searches and resources are used (particularly for music)

Successful searching and research comes from asking questions, being curious, and thinking critically.

Navigate from the Library Home Page to the Subject guide for Music.

1. What are the 3 databases listed as Best Bets on the main landing page (the tab is labeled GALILEO Databases)?

2. What are the first 3 databases listed on the Video tab?

Click for the Answers for Getting Started: Where to Search Exercise

If you are not completely familiar with the pages and resources discussed, go to the Library Home page and navigate through the various menus and pages so you know the basic organization of the Library Home page and the Music Guide. The Music Guide was not shown in detail so please navigate through every tab and scan the contents.