Music Searching Tutorial: Part 8: Articles & More

What is RILM Searching?  Bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing of scholarly music publications (journal articles, books, dissertations, conference papers, etc.) s from around the world on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music, and related subjects. Location: Music Subject Guide - Articles

• Limited to scholarly sources (peer-reviewed)   ---  No popular or trade publications 
• Classical music coverage is very strong   ---  More Limited coverage of jazz, world music, pop music, etc.
• International coverage with high percentage of foreign language scholarship
• Not a full text database   ---   Only searches citation, abstract and subject. DOES NOT search Full Text  (majority of article databases search full text)

Select Advanced Search Example

In the Advance Search you can see the 3 boxes with the search terms 

1. Search Formatting: at the top of the left menu is a box title Current Search Terms and the search written as mozart AND opera AND (women OR female characters).
   Note how terms using OR are surrounded by parentheses. Understanding search formatting helps you recognize if the search structure is what you intended. This is standard formatting for any online resource and you will see it most online databases.
2. Results List: from the titles and the subjects you get a sense of the success or failure of your search
3. UGA Access: when the full text is not available in this database you can select the UGA Access link to identify if the full text is available at UGA. If not you are given the option to request the item (through ILL)

RILM  Search and Results List Example

Look at an Individual Record for more detailed information:

1. Subjects: Full list of numerous detailed subject headings.
2. Abstract: summary of the item which is very helpful when many of the items are in a foreign language
3. UGA Access button: the link appears again on the left side of the page if you want to locate the full text NOTE: If the full text is not available directly in the database , you should use this button

RILM Detailed Record Example

• A narrow music focus limited to scholarly publications  --  a key music resource for scholarly music research
• DOES NOT SEARCH the FULL TEXT of the articles, dissertations, etc. but searches Citations, Abstracts and detailed Subject Headings
• Look and functionality typical of online databases
  • Basic and Advanced Search
  • Use Boolean searching: AND, OR & NOT
  • Other search tools: phrase searching using quotation marks (" "), truncation using asterisk (*) after the root of a word

What is Music Periodicals Database Searching? by default the database searches the FULL TEXT of the documents (journal article, feature article, book, conference paper, review, etc.) as well as the Citation, Abstract and Subject headings, The content is international music and covers nearly all aspects of music from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Location: Music Subject Guide - Articles

• Content from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade publications; includes articles but also brief magazine entries and concert and audio reviews 
• Covers all genres of music
• Some international coverage but mostly English language publications
• Search Full Text by default but you can change the search to search all fields (Citations, Abstracts, Subjects) except Full Text  

Select Advanced Search (Exclude Reviews option below the search box is unique to this database)

• The Change Databases will be discussed later but is similar to that found in RILM Abstracts of Music

The Advanced search allows multiple boxes to be added as needed.

• The search index for each box defaults to Search Anywhere which searches the Full Text of the article. NOTE: Full Text searches greatly increase the number of search results since  the terms can be anywhere in the article.
• Select the Exclude Reviews to eliminate those brief summaries of a concert of recording
• The Menu in the upper left corner opens a menu with several options such as Change Database, and Help

The Results List 

• Search terms formatted in a single box in the results list  --  mozart AND opera and (women OR female characters)  -- rather than show three search boxes. 
• Modify Search link under the right side of the search box to alter the search
• Limits, such as Source Type, found in the left menu to manipulate the search results.
• Results shows citation and snippets of text with search terms highlighted.
• Links to Full Text Article (occasionally you will see the UGA Access button if the full text is not available with Music Periodical Database).

Results List Example

Individual Records 

• Citation at the top
• Abstract summarizing the item
• Full Text follows when available
• Subjects display in lower right corner -- the subjects are very general and simple. 

Individual Record Example

OPTION 1 for Modifying a search: Change the search index in the Advanced Search from Anywhere  to  Anywhere except full text -- NOFT.  This is changing the search from a Full Text search to a search that like the RILM search does not search the full text of the items.

• Anywhere except full text -- NOFT will search the Citations, Abstracts, and Subjects  -- will return far fewer results
• The search index menu has additional options to search the Title, Citation, Abstract, and Subjects separately

Anywhere except full text -- NOFT example: Search results reduced from 4050 Search Anywhere to 149 NOFT

OPTION 2 for Modifying your search: Use Proximity Searching when searching Full Text. In ProQuest database you use N/n?  (type a capital N, a slash, and lastly a number)

• Use the search string that appeared in your first search. See example 1 below
• Replace AND by typing N/20 (could be any number of your choosing) and placed quotation marks around female characters. NOTE: While using female characters rather than the phrase "female characters" makes a very small difference in a Full Text search, the proximity or near function WILL NOT WORK unless the phrase is clearly identified by using the quotation marks. You will see search error message and wonder why your search did not work. See example 2 below

Advanced Search first search Results. example 1 -- 4,054 results

Advanced Search first search Results with AND replaced by N/20 and added quotation marks around "female characters". example 2 --  119 results

The Proximity (N/n?) gives can make sure that terms are on the same page or even closer. For example, a composer or musician may sometimes use a middle name and sometime not. You could format your search First Name N/2 Last Name in order to find all variations.

• A large music database with broad coverage -- includes scholarly, trade and popular content
• Search index Anywhere will search full text is the default
  • Change search index to Anywhere except full text -- NOFT to search Citations, Abstracts and Subjects - no full text
• Look and functionality typical of online databases
  • Basic and Advanced Search
  • Use Boolean searching: AND, OR & NOT
  • Other search tools: phrase searching using quotation marks (" "), truncation using asterisk (*) after the root of a word
• Proximity Searching (N/n?) is a feature of Full Text searching and is another tool that can be used to customize your search in this database  -  mozart N/20 opera N/20 (women OR female characters")

What is JSTOR Searching?  a digital archive of journals, JSTOR is searching the full text and citations of scholarly journal articles across all disciplines. Location: Music Subject Guide - Articles

• Limited to scholarly journals
• All discipline covered with music and the performing arts included.
• Strength is full text searching  -- only 10% of articles have an abstract
• DOES NOT contain current content (typically a 3-5 year rolling embargo)

Because this resource was not created as a discovery tool the search options are a little different and more limited than other databases. As usual, the Advanced search provides more options and a better framework for organizing your search

Basic Search Screen Example

Advanced Search Screen Example

• Add Search boxes/lines as needed
• Use quotation marks (" ") for phrase searching, the asterisk (*) to search variants of a root work, use OR withing a search box for similar words to be included in search
• All Fields (full text searching) is the default search index. Can change to Title, Author, and Abstract (only 10% of JSTOR articles have abstracts). There is no subject index.

Advanced Search Example

Unique Advanced Search Features

• Journal Filter: If you scroll down past the search boxes there is a section titled Journal Filter which allows you to limit journals by discipline. Select 1 or more subject areas. See above example
• Proximity searching using the Boolean menus: The Boolean menus which default to AND can be changed to NEAR 5, NEAR 10 and NEAR 25.  IMPORTANT NOTE: The NEAR operator only works when searching for single keyword combinations. For example, you may search for opera NEAR 10 women, but not opera NEAR 10 "female characters".

Using the NEAR option can greatly reduces the results and ensures that those terms are close to each other in the document, most likely the same page Search 1: mozart AND opera AND women = 4,646 Search 2: mozart NEAR25 opera NEAR10 women = 125 results Use NEAR carefully and remember that JSTOR requires that near only be used with single terms -- no phrases

Observation: Doing a topic search and using general terms like mozart AND opera AND women  or mozart NEAR25 opera NEAR10 women are likely too general for a full text search. The results often have little to do with how female characters are portrayed or treated in mozart's operas.

The journals archived in JSTOR are indexed and abstracted in other databases where searching is more productive. Searching full text in JSTOR is often best used for more obscure people, works, etc. 

For example, doing a search for information about lesser known southern composer Lily Strickland may reveal some reference or mention which would not be found without doing a full text search.

A phrase search ("Lily Strickland") in JSTOR retrieves 125 results where her name appears as an author as well as a name in the full text of the articles.

Individual records for full text article.

• In the left menu there is a link labeled Search Matches.
• Selecting this link bring up a list of 1 or more places within the record where the terms are found. The below example shows p. 8 of the article which displays an ad for a musical by Lily Strickland.

• A large journal archive covering all disciplines including music and performing arts  --  DOES NOT contain current content (typically a 3-5 year rolling embargo). Journals are indexed in other databases
• The FULL TEXT search mainly but can do an author or title search but not abstracts  
• Look and functionality somewhat unique to this database -- limit by journal subject area
  • Basic and Advanced Search
  • Use Boolean searching: AND, OR & NOT
  • Other search tools: phrase searching using quotation marks (" "), truncation using asterisk (*) after the root of a word but cannot be used in Proximity searching
• Proximity Searching (NEAR) can be done through the Boolean menus but must only be used with single search terms

What is HathiTrust Searching?  a digital archive of library materials provided by academic libraries and archives. The content includes numerous formats including books, scores, journals, magazines, pamphlets, etc. Location: Music Subject Guide - Articles

• All discipline covered including music
• Searches detailed citations and subjects as well as full text 
• Contains numerous formats including books, scores, journals, magazines, pamphlets, etc.
• Purpose is to digitize older content and so not a source for newer materials.

Basic Search

• The default search index is Full Text & All Fields but allows you to change the search index in the Basic Search (a nice feature). 
• A link to the Advanced Search appears under the search button

HathiTrust Basic Search example for phrase "Lily Strickland" 

Search Results

• Items list in Center of page with option to view Catalog Record for more details or open full text in Full View
• Item Viewability in the left column shows
  • 2,025 items found - All Items
  • 1,085 items with full text  - Full View   (the items not full text will display the catalog record but cannot display full text in order to comply with copyright)

HathiTrust Search Results example for phrase "Lily Strickland" 

Search Results example Limited to Musical Score

Full View of digitized Score by Lily Strickland

The left menu provides numerous options

• Download your own digital copy
• Search in the Text allows you to type terms and phrases "lily strickland' in order to locate in the text

HathiTrust Search Full View of Score by Lily Strickland 

HathiTrust Search Full View of text about Lily Strickland - her name is found 13 times

HathiTrust Advanced Search

A basic search was used for the search of "Lily Strickland" because the search was simple. As always, you decide the type of search you need to use. An advanced search is available which follows the standard format you have seen in other databases. 

• 4 Search Lines - Each line has 3 components
  1. Each line begins with Search Index (Field) which can be changed
  2. Next option is to search All of these Words (the default)  -- connects the words in the search box with AND
     • Can change to Any of these Words -- connects the words with OR (you can also type OR between words or phrases)
     • Can change to This Exact Phrase -- searches as a phrase or you can put quotation marks (" ") around a phrase
  3. Search box where you type your term(s) is at the end of each search line

HathiTrust Advanced Search Example

• A large archive covering all disciplines and formats including scores --  DOES NOT contain current content which is excluded for copyright issues
• Useful for Full Text searching but does have citations with subjects
• Use format limits to help navigate the results
  • Basic and Advanced Search
  • Use Boolean searching: AND, OR & NOT
  • Other search tools: phrase searching using quotation marks (" "), truncation using asterisk (*) after the root of a word but cannot be used in Proximity searching
• Searches Full Text but DOES NOT to use Proximity / Near searching

The previous discussion on searching individual databases looked at 4 specific online resources:

Observations:

The library provides access hundreds of databases each has similarities and differences. Some of the information about these databases can be found in the database itself if there is a link about the resource. You can also do a simple good search to learn more about the resource.

• Similarities
  • In general most databases follow a similar format -- not exact -- but similar enough for you to figure out how to use.
  • Most databases have some type of help link in the menu or linked somewhere on the search page where you can read about how to search the resource
  • Each has a defined scope and purpose -- so each database is unique
• Differences
  • Even if the databases cover the same subject, such as music, the Scope, Coverage Content is different
  • Understand if the database is searching Full Text or just the Citation, Abstract and Subjects -- changes how you formulate your search
  • Know what the default search is (Full Text versus Citation, Abstract and Subjects)  -- changing the default usually requires doing an advanced search

With so many databases how do you know or discover which ones to use?

• Use the Music Subject Guide
  • Has Databases grouped into tabs: Articles, Books & Dissertations; Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Reference, Scores, Audio, Video
  • Includes non-music resources in the areas of education, psychology, history, etc.
• Use the List of Subjects Guides and select areas that overlap with your topic
• Ask a Librarian -- 
  • Use Library Chat or Email for a quick answer
  • Schedule a Research Consultation with a librarian for more in depth research

Why is searching multiple databases simultaneously helpful?

• With hundreds of databases available for UGA users, determining which database can be difficult.
  • Search multiple databases at time in order to find databases which may be useful for your research
  • Searching multiple databases across several discipline helps to identify cross disciplinary research

As stated at the beginning, this section will discuss four available options;

1. Multi-Search
2. EBSCO Databases
3. ProQuest Databases
4. Google Scholar

What is it searching? Multi-Search (an EBSCO Product) searches over 100 databases (mostly EBSCO databases) as well as the UGA Library catalog at the same time. Location: Library Home Page

The Advanced Search in Multi-Search provide 3 boxes for searching and looks very similar to most resources

• Search index default is All Fields which search citation, Subjects and Abstract/Summary.
  • Can be changed to All Text - TX which will then search the full text of the digital articles, books, etc.
• Limit Your Results  -- Online or in the Library, Online, Peer Reviewed, Catalog Only -- are located below the search boxes.
  • Some find the Interface of the catalog easier to search and possible request items rather than using the Multi-Search interface.
  • The catalog can be searched by itself but cannot be excluded. In the results formats can be included or excluded.

Multi-Search Advanced Example

The Search Results page

• search is formatted into a single line at the top  -- mozart AND opera AND (women OR "female characters")
• tabs and menus underneath the search box provide option to limit
  • Source type has a drop down menu with the top 5 formats that can be expanded to include all formats in the search.  Common formats for music would be Music Scores, Audio, Video, etc.

Multi-Search Results for mozart AND opera AND (women OR "female characters") Example

A comparison of search results using the default ALL Fields with ALL Text - TX shows the large increase in results when searching full text

    mozart AND opera AND (women OR "female characters")  =  2,035 results  (All Fields -- searching Citation, Abstract and Subject fields)

mozart AND opera AND (women OR "female characters")  =  209,011 results  (All Text - TX -- full text searching)

• Multi-Search (an EBSCO Product) searching over 100 databases (mostly EBSCO databases) as well as the UGA Library catalog at the same time is the default search on the Library Home page.
  • Search index default is All Fields which search citation, Subjects and Abstract/Summary.
  • Can be changed to All Text - TX which will then search the full text of the digital articles, books, etc.
  • Limit Your Results  -- Online or in the Library, Online, Peer Reviewed, Catalog Only -- are located below the search boxes.
    • Some find the Interface of the catalog easier to search and possible request items rather than using the Multi-Search interface.
    • The catalog can be searched by itself but cannot be excluded. In the results formats can be included or excluded.

Multi-Search is an EBSCO Product, but identifying the databases your are searching can be difficult. It is also difficult to exclude the UGA Catalog which you may not want to see in your results.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is an EBSCO database, and the vendor makes it easy to start in a single EBSCO database and then expand the search to all or some of the EBSCO databases.

When in RILM or any EBSCO database there is a link near the search box to Choose Database.

• Choose Databases menu pops up allowing you to select or unselect all. Since the search started in RILM this database is currently selected.  The list contains 132 databases. 

• Choose Select All and click OK. Without going into to a long explanation your search may or may not automatically transfer and search automatically.
• Review search terms and structure to make sure the format is correct OR retype your search terms into the search box(es). When moving from a single EBSCO database to searching multiple databases the search formatting may not transfer correctly. For example parentheses may be missing and you need to manually insert the parentheses into the search around (women OR "female characters")

Inserting the parentheses and correcting the formatting of the search OR selecting Advanced Search and retyping your search reduces the results from 28,548 to 1,386. The Search default in EBSCO is to search Citations, Abstracts and Subjects.

The left hand menu provides several options for limiting the results, such as Source Type, and at the bottom of the menu there is a list of the database with results. This list can be expanded by selecting More+. The menu which open allows you to select or unselect the databases you want in your results.

Full Text Searching in EBSCO Databases:

To search Full Text you would need to do an Advanced Search which allows you to select TX  All Text as the search index.

• EBSCO Database by default search the Citation, Abstract and Subject  -- the search index reads Select a Field (optional). 
• Change the search index to TX - All Text.  Search terms are the same but searching full text returns 87,644 results

The search string --  TX mozart AND TX opera AND TX ( women OR "female characters" ) -- is not in a single line but is organized into 3 search boxes. 

Proximity Searching in EBSCO Databases:

When searching database or database with full text, one option for reducing or narrowing your results is to use Porximity searching (or the Near function). Proximity Search was discussed when talking about Music Periodicals Database (a ProQuest Database) and in the discussion of JSTOR

Proximity Search allows you to use a symbol which requires that search terms are set number of words away from other terms or phrases in the search. For EBSCO Databases the proximity symbol is Nn? (a capital N followed by a number of your choosing, for example N20). The is slightly different than the Proximity symbol which was used by ProQuest which was a capital N a slash a number of your choosing for example, N/20.

How and where to format your search:

• How: The proximity symbol can be used anywhere that you would have used AND in your search, so you should type your search mozart N20 opera N20 (women OR "female characters")
• Where:
  • A proximity search should be done in an Advances search where the search index is set to TX All Text
  • The Nn? (N20 for example) needs to be typed in a single line or box.

Proximity Search - mozart N20 opera N20 (women OR "female characters") - typed in a single advanced search line with search index changed to TX All Text

• Starting in RILM Abstracts of Music Literature you can add all or some additional EBSCO Databases to your search

1. Select Choose Database link near the search box
2. Select all or some of the EBSCO Databases from pop up menu
3. Select OK and see new results or do a new search

• EBSCO databases contain full text which can be searched
  • Change Search Index to TX All Text 
  • When Searching full text you can also use Proximity Searching ( Nn?  - N5, N10, N20, etc.)
    • use Nn? where you would normally connect with AND
    • Only available in full text searching
    • Must be done in Advanced Search with TX All Text as Search Index
    • Must be typed in a single line/search box

This tutorial has already discussed searching in Music Periodicals Database which is a ProQuest Database. Like EBSCO you can choose to search multiple ProQuest Databases simultaneously. Both the Basic Search (above the search box) and the Advanced Search (by opening the menu in the upper left corner) have placed to change the databases being searched.

The basic search has a link right above the box labeled Change Databases

The Menu in the upper left hand corner is available form the Basic Search, the Advanced Search as well as the Search Results page and provides an option to Change Databases

Change Database takes you to a page where the databases can be viewed by name.  You can select all or individually select those databases you want to search.

• Select All  or those specific databases you want to search  -- then select Use Selected Databases
• OR change the View by Subject which is a link under the Use Selected Databases button
  • Arts Databases is at the top of the list and there is a pus sign (+) so you can view the databases in this area.
  • Dissertations & Theses databases is also a very useful category and a resource not included in Multi-Search or the EBSCO Databases

Databases viewed by Name Example

Databases viewed by Subject Example

If you select Change Databases from the results page after a search and select all the databases the search is correctly formatted in a single search box. You may want to select the Advanced Search so you have more options. 

Search Results For all ProQuest Databases

• The Basic Search searched full text and the Advanced Search defaults to full text (Search Anywhere) so the results are huge
• Can use Source Type from left menu to reduce results
• Can use Database from left menu to see where results are coming from. Already opened menu to show top 5 databases and could select more to see all ProQuest Databases with results.

Proximity Searching

Since the search is a full text search you could manually change AND to a proximity search (N/a number) to make sure the terms are near each other in the text. The results are reduced to 3,135 by using N/20. NOTE: While using female characters rather than the phrase "female characters" makes a very small difference in a Full Text search, the proximity or near function WILL NOT WORK unless the phrase is clearly identified by using the quotation marks. You will see search error message and wonder why your search did not work. 

Changing from a full text search to searching Citations, Abstracts and Subjects:

Searching the Citation, Abstract and Subject is another obvious way to reduce the results when search all the ProQuest databases simultaneously. Do an Advanced Search and change the search index from  Anywhere to Anywhere except full text -- NOFT.

The search results from the 42 ProQuest databases is greatly reduced when not searching full text. You can see from the search box that NOFT is clearly indicated in the search string. The results are reduced to 2,272

Observations:

1. As already discussed, searching broad topics are difficult to do in a full text search so it is often better to search the Citation, Abstract and Subjects first. In ProQuest you would need to do an Advanced Search and change the default in the index.  This is the opposite of how EBSCO databases search.
2. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is one ProQuest Database that is a major source of information both text and bibliographic for music research. It is a full text databases so can be difficult. While you can search this database simultaneously with other ProQuest Databases, because it can a little tricky to search it is recommended you search this database by itself. This database is accessible from the Music Subject Guide - Books & Dissertations.
3. A very specific search would do better in a full text search across all multiple databases. Doing a phrase search for Christophe Moyreau returns only 31 items where the name appears. But a full text search may uncover an article, book, or dissertation where he is mentioned that  would not be find without a full text search.

• Starting in Music Periodicals Database you can add all or some additional ProQuest Databases to your search

1. Select Change Databases link near the basic search box or open and use the menu in the upper left corner
2. Select all or some of the ProQuest Databases from next page or change to view by Subject and select desired subject categories
3. Click Use Selected Databases

• ProQuest databases contain full text which can be searched
  • Search Index Anywhere (the default) which searches full text -- change Anywhere except full text - NOFT if you want to only search Citations, Abstracts and Subjects 
  • When Searching full text you can also use Proximity Searching ( N/n?  - N/5, N/10, N/20, etc.)
    • use N/n? where you would normally connect with AND
    • Only available in full text searching
    • Can do a Proximity Search in Basic and Advanced Search since the default search is full text
    • Must be typed in a single line/search box

Google Scholar +UGA Access was mentioned at the very beginning of this tutorial when we were looking at the search options on the Library Home page. Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Even though the search engine is free most of the content is not. The scholarly literature is often only available with a subscription. The +UGA Access allows the subscriptions available to UGA faculty and students to be linked to the Google Scholar search engine. Location: Library Home Page

Since this is a massive search engine across all disciplines and formats it is similar in function to Multi-Search or Searching Multiple Databases Simultaneously.

• On the Library home page the search menu has been changed from Multi-Search to Google Scholar +UGA Access
• The search terms/phrase  mozart opera "female characters" has been entered into the search box -- there is not option here for advanced search. All terms and phrases are connected by AND by default.

Google Scholar +UGA Access on UGA Home Page example

Search Results

• Search string displayed in the search box
• Results list with search terms clearly in bold letters
• Full text links to the right of the citations
• Suggested search terms at the bottom of the page

Advances Search Pup up Window

Google Scholar Advanced Search

Google Scholar correctly interpreted the search in the box and placed them in the appropriate boxes in the advanced search.

There are 4 boxes which correspond to the Boolean searching and phrase searching.

1. With all the words = AND
2. With the exact phrase = quotation marks (" ")
3. With at least one of the words = OR
4. Without the words = NOT

As mentioned Google Scholar recognized the search with quotation marks (the original search). The more you observe how searches are constructed in various databases you become familiar with their construction and can simply type the search directly into the single search box.

• Available as a search on by changing the menu of the search box on the Library Home page
• freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines
• Acts like a Multi-Search type product since it searches such a large database
• + UGA Access connects and provides access to full text available via UGA
• Uses Google's powerful search algorithm
• Does have Advanced Search Options. Use Menu in upper left corner to access.
  • With all the words = AND
  • With the exact phrase = quotation marks (" ")
  • With at least one of the words = OR
  • Without the words = NOT
  • You can also use the symbols your know (quotation mark, asterisk, parantheses, OR, etc.) and type your search in the single search box

Benefits

• Helps if you don't know where to start
• Helps you identify databases that my be useful for your research

Drawbacks

• Unique features of a database may not available when doing searches across database
• Search terms and strategies cannot be tailored to a specific database

Options for search multiple databases

• Multi-Search: Search box on Library Home Page (mostly EBSCO databases and the UGA Library Catalog)
  • An easy option which is the default search on the Library Home Page
  • A simplified interface -- does not have all the features of a the EBSCO database platform
  • Can search the Catalog ONLY but not as easy to remove the Catalog
     
• EBSCO Databases: Search RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and then CHANGE database to include all or some of the 100+ EBSCO databases
  • Will search Citation, Subjects & Abstract by default -- 
  • Can can do a Full Text search in the Advanced SEARCH by changing the Search Index to TX All text fields.
    • In ALL TEXT you can also do a Proximity Search using Nn? (for example N20).
      • Type all the search terms in a single box/line in the Advanced Search use Nn? where your search would use and AND -- for example mozart N20 opera N20 (women OR "female characters")
      • Make sure the Search Index is set to TX All text fields.
         
• ProQuest Databases: Search Music Periodicals Database and then CHANGE database to include all or some of the 40+ ProQuest databases
  • Search index Anywhere which search full test is the default
    • When search full text -- Anywhere --  you can also do a Proximity Search using N/n? (for example N/20).
      • Type all the search terms in a single box/line in the Advanced Search use N/n? where your search would use and AND -- for example mozart N/20 opera N/20 (women OR "female characters")
  • Change search index to Anywhere except full text -- NOFT to search Citations, Abstracts and Subjects - no full text

Here is a real-life search question which illustrates the importance of detailed and thorough research. Someone asked me how to cite the following music example from a book that they wanted to use. The book did not provide a reference or citation for the item, so I suggested they should find the original source and cite that source.

Exercise 1. The task is to find the original source for this musical example.

Masura                                                           J. Riepka, 1752

For the purposes of this exercise, do not start with the catalog or any of the Library subscription databases (RILM, Music Periodicals Index, Multi-Search, etc.). While it may not be impossible to find the answer using the Library sources mentioned, they will not easily get you started the answer. They would be helpful later in the search process.

Assuming you had already looked at the subscription Library databases and not found an answer, try searching Google Scholar or Google as they have powerful search algorithms and search full text.

There are 3 search concepts: a name (J. Riepka) , a title or term (Masura) and a year (1752). Perform the following searches in Google Scholar and record your search results

Observation: For the single search terms riepka and masura a good portion of the results will not be related to music since we are searching a full text database covering all discipline.
Add the word music to the search to try and narrow the results ( riepka AND music; masura AND music)

Exercise 1. The task was to find the original source for this musical example.

Masura                                                           J. Riepka, 1752

Exercise 1 Answer: 

Click for Answers for Ariclles & More Search Exercise 1

Having found what appears to be the source of the musical example.

Masura                                                           J. Riepka, 1752

Exercise 2A: Find a Print Copy in the UGA Library of the source so that you can look at the work, verify the example, and cite the source. 

Exercise 2B: addition, you should be able to find a digital copy on the internet. Provide a link to one of these digital copies.

Click for Answers for Article & More Exercises 2A  & 2B