Skip to main content

MARK 7610: Qualitative Research in Marketing (Hollenbeck): Home

Dr. Candice Hollenbeck,Fall 2020

Additional LibGuides

Database Tips

Use the FIND IT button to find full-text, when available.

Databases to Start With

Business Insights: Global: Delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, useable context. This unique resource empowers users to not only research topics but also to interpret their research. Deep business intelligence powered by statistical data lets researchers spend less time searching and more time connecting their discoveries to practical applications.

Business Collection: Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily

InfoTrac Small Business CollectionIdeal for business schools and entrepreneurs, Small Business Collection is updated daily and provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Users find more than 500 subject-appropriate, active, full-text periodicals, including: Beverage Industry, Black Enterprise, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, and more. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.

More Databases

PrivCo provides key financial data, number of employees, company contacts, whether family-owned or private equity backed, M&A history, and competitor lists for private companies, U.S. and international. Amount of data available varies by company. Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database. A demo video which provides an overview of the database is here. I also recommend subscribing to The Daily Stack, their daily morning email of business news and analysis compiled by their editorial team. It's very well done. I read it every morning. To subscribe to that you can, sign up here

Mergent Intellect: Includes global company information on around 280,000,000 public and private businesses including corporate family tree data and executive contacts. U.S. consumer demographic and lifestyle data including Prizm reports from Nielsen. First Research industry reports and key business ratios on hundreds of industries. NOTE: When you enter the First Research industry reports module within Mergent Intellect you will be required to submit an email address. U.S. demographic data from the Census Bureau. Mergent Intellect also pulls financial and other corporate data for U.S. publicly traded companies from the database,

IBISWorld (U.S. Industry Reports)

Contains in-depth surveys of 723 industries. Reports are usually 30 to 50 pages long. Reports cover industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook. There are numerous statistical tables, which can be exported to Excel. Reports are updated every four months.

Also, these are three good tutorials to help you read IBIS reports.

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports provides in-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, including food/drink, clothing, beauty, electronics, automobiles, etc. Reports are typically 100 pages long and cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. About 120 reports are added annually.

Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports. Its software gives anyone with an Internet connection access to census data that was previously the domain of social science experts.

Factiva

Factiva combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:1,000 U.S. and foreign newspapers, 6,500 news magazines and trade journals, 270 newswires - Dow Jones, Reuters, AP, Asia Pulse, transcripts of leading media news broadcasts - BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, NPR, company profiles and reports, European Union official documents. Factiva is the only database that provides the full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present.

ABI/Inform

ABI/Inform features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Business Market Research Collection

  • Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance from a network of 1,000 faculty members at Oxford, other leading universities, and think-tanks; Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the many important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Your Librarian

Sheila Devaney's picture
Sheila Devaney
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library
University of Georgia
sdevaney@uga.edu
912-268-0539 (For Fall 2020 please use my Google Voice number))

Chat with a Librarian