GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: Knitting and Crochet: Resources @UGA Libraries

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Book Gallery from the Library Catalog

Crochet One-Skein Wonders®

In this all-crochet addition to the One-Skein Wonders® series, Edie Eckman and Judith Durant offer 101 exciting crochet projects -- including jewelry, scarves, bags, hats, dresses, and home decor items -- that each use just one skein of yarn. With projects organized by yarn type and weight, you'll be crocheting lacy shrugs for the springtime and heavy-duty beanies for the snowy winter months. Whatever your experience level, you're sure to find a delightfully portable project that suits your individual style.

Geek Chic Crochet

Do you have a passion for vintage fashion? If so, you're guaranteed to love the 35 patterns in Geek Chic Crochet. With a combination of cute, quirky and cosy items, you will find clothes suitable for any occasion, all inspired by retro designs. Even if you have never crocheted before, you'll find easy patterns to stitch, plus an extensive techniques section explaining everything you need to know.

Hooked on Crochet! Hats II

The eight designs and various accessories use medium worsted-weight yarn that can be customized to match existing clothes and accent pieces. Beginning and advanced crafters alike will have no trouble with these breezy projects, which include a floppy hat, a flapper hat, a banded beanie, a baggy beanie, a spring beanie, a baseball hat, a bow hat, and the Sans Limites hat.

Comfort Knitting and Crochet: Afghans

A treasury of patterns for creative knitters and crocheters to cozy up with! For many of us, afghans are the epitome of comfort. Colorful and inviting, they are a staple of the home, without which a living room or bedroom just wouldn't feel complete. A Intended for knitters and crocheters of every skill level, this collection brings new life to the well-loved and versatile afghan.

Comfort Knitting and Crochet: Babies and Toddlers

In Comfort Knitting & Crochet: Babies & Toddlers, the Berroco design team (led by superstar design director Norah Gaughan) cover all of the cozy bases, presenting blankets, sweaters, bonnets, and plush toys. With project styles ranging from traditional pastels and Aran knits to midcentury modern color-blocking, and challenge levels ranging from beginner to advanced, there's something for every knitter and crocheter--and every baby they love--in this beautiful collection.

Knitting 101

Written with the absolute beginner in mind, Knitting 101 teaches all the basics for learning to knit with step-by-step instructions and photographs. Knitting skills are learned by working on projects, beginning with something very easy and getting progressively more difficult as the reader works through the book. New skills are explored in depth as they are introduced. The introductory section covers all the basics of knitting--selecting yarn, needle types and sizes, other tools and accessories, knitting gauge, casting on, forming stitches, reading patterns--making this the most comprehensive beginner's book available. The accompanying online videos include a how-to guide illustrating all the knitting techniques presented in the book. The videos are very useful for those who learn better by seeing a step in action as opposed to still photographs.

Up, down, All-Around Stitch Dictionary

This hefty collection, ranging from lace and cables to colorwork and fancy edgings, is loaded with beautifully photographed swatches of each pattern, plus charted and text instructions. Bernard also demonstrates how to work each of the 150 popular stitch patterns four different ways: top down, bottom up, back and forth, and in the round. And to showcase the stitch patterns in action, she includes instructions for eight garments as well as her famous formulas for knitting garments without a pattern.

Vogue® Knitting Stitchionary®

This essential reference gives every knitter, from the novice to the most experienced, a complete catalog of all the pattern stitches available from the Vogue® Knitting archives. Over 300 pattern stitches are presented, from simple knit and purl to lace, traveling stitches, and specialty stitches--including eye of lynx, bobble block, peppercorn, and bamboo--with written directions and all necessary charts. Plus, there's an easy-to-use index for quick reference. T

Vogue Knitting: the ultimate knitting book

With input from more than 50 leading specialists, no other book covers the field so comprehensively. Need guidance on yarns, needles, tools, basic techniques, specialized applications, terminology? It's in here--with lots more, from diagnostics to blocking to designs. "This indispensable reference has...up-to-the-minute designer patterns."--Family Circle Homecrafts. "The ultimate reference guide."--House & Garden Magazine.

Increase, Decrease 99 step-by-step methods

The secret to knitting great-fitting hats and shaping elegant sleeves lies in using the right increase or decrease techniques. Approachable and insightful, Judith Durant provides clear instructions and step-by-step photographs that showcase swatches for each technique. From working shaped lace to adjusting necklines, you'll soon have a go-to strategy for successfully tackling knitting challenges of all shapes and sizes.

Knit to Flatter

Knit to Flatter is about celebrating the body you have been given and creating sweaters that make you look and feel great. With a great sense of fun and acceptance, Amy Herzog presents silhouettes and styles that work with each body shape, along with four ideal sweater patterns per category. She then provides patterns for ten more sweaters with guidelines for customizing, so they can be tailored to flatter. Each pattern is written in up to 10 sizes, and the garments are photographed on models with genuine curves.

Knitting 24/7: 30 Projects to Knit, Wear, and Enjoy, on the Go and Around the Clock

Times like these call for projects that are easily transportable and have stitch patterns that are simple to memorize. Véronik Avery has created 30 such projects for Knitting 24/7, a collection of stylish clothing and accessories that make use of those "in-between" times when we're busy, yet our hands are free. Ranging from sweaters, scarves, and shrugs to hats and mitts, the projects represent both what knitters want to wear and what they actually have time to create.

Head-To-Toe Winter Knits

This gorgeous book brings together 100 of the best winter knits from bestselling author and knitting designer, Monica Russel. With designs for men, women and children in a range of colors and styles, there is something for everyone in this valuable knitting resource. "These 100 patterns for winter accessories will satisfy beginning and experienced knitters alike.

Handknit Holidays

In Handknit Holidays best-selling knitting author Melanie Falick presents an eclectic collection of more than 50 original gifts, decorations, and clothing pieces for Christmas, Hanukkah, and the winter solstice, providing year-round inspiration for knitters of all levels.

A Playful Palette of 10 Knitted Accessories

The designs in this craft book are customizable, loaded with simple textures, and entertaining for all levels of knitters. From sassy scarves to squishy socks, capes for layering or mitts for cool weather, you will find everything you need for the perfect knitwear indulgence. Making more than socks withsock-weight yarn showcases the beauty of the material. Additional information on the use of handpainted yarns, monotones, variegated, and self-striping is also included.

Afghans and Throws

Experience the joys of making and giving with this wonderfully varied collection of afghans, throws, and blankets, all created with Plymouth yarn. Crafters can knit beautiful and practical gifts for friends and family; everyone from babies to grandparents will enjoy. Each of the 11 projects is constructed of squares or panels that are put together later, so knitters can work on the small pieces virtually anywhere.

Baby Washcloths and Afghan Squares

This book includes instructions for 10 easy-knit blocks, each featuring a different textured pattern, plus a slipped-stitch block with stripes. The geometric textured designs feature mesmerizing diamonds, squares, basket weaves, circles, chevrons, and more. Special consideration was taken that the blocks do not have any lace holes or strands of yarn to catch little fingers or toes. With these mix-and-match patterns, knitters can make as few or as many as they desire, and attractive, matching sets of afghans and washcloths make great gifts.

More Than a Dozen Hats and Beanies

The 15 hat projects in this fun craft guide provide an enjoyable introduction to knitting in the round. With patterns to suit men and women as well as children and infants, these hats can be easily knit and stylishly worn. Photos and straightforward diagrams present a thorough tutorial on the techniques needed to complete the projects, making them suitable for beginning knitters, and the varieties of patterns will prevent advanced knitters from feeling bored.

The Mitten Handbook

For years, students have asked knitting instructor Mary Scott Huff for a book on their favorite topic--knitting mittens--but one that empowers them to create their own mittens their own way. This is that book. The Mitten Handbook is much more than an instruction book--it provides a list of mitten ingredients (thumbs, cuffs, tops, edgings, and different constructions), then outlines the best tools and techniques to combine them to knit your own unique creations.

Knitting New Mittens and Gloves

Knitting New Mittens and Gloves combines traditional and untraditional techniques in a winning collection of patterns for adults and children. Because they are small, quick to make, and don't require a lot of yarn, mittens and gloves are perfect projects for knitting throughout the year, and they also offer an ideal opportunity for beginning and more seasoned knitters to experiment with new techniques, yarns, and styles.

My First Cardigan Workbook

Designed to be used as a self-guided tutorial, this book develops and improves knitting skills through quick-to-knit projects for baby cardigans. he book is perfect for knitters who would like to progress from easy to intermediate projects. Once the baby-sized options have been completed, the sweaters can be made in adult sizes.

Quick-Knit Flower Frenzy

The 17 compact knitted flower projects featured in this guide are the perfect way to use up leftover bits of yarn, require a minimal investment of time, and are easy to take on the go. Geared toward intermediate-level knitters, each project includes a step-by-step, photographic tutorial that walks them through each stage, from how to make the petals to embellishments such as beads and embroidered accents. The flowers come in a vast array of designs—both realistic and stylized—that can be customized with yarn and fabric choices and can be used in countless ways, from brooches and barrettes to accents on shoes or even a whole knitted bouquet.

Knitted Animal Friends

Learn to make an adorable collection of knitted animal toys with these new patterns by the author of My Knitted Doll, Louise Crowther. Louise brings her unique style of coordinated knitwear with cute colorwork details to this new collection of toy animal knitting patterns. There are a total of twelve knitted animals--each with their own unique personality and style. The animals all have the same basic body, with a few color variations and tail additions, so the clothes can be mixed and matched between them to create endless outfit possibilities.

Knitting Rugs

A collection of 39 original, creative designs for knitted rugs.

Mason-Dixon Knitting

Enjoy the practical advice, real-life knitting instruction, and irreverent humor of Yankee Kay Gardiner and Tennessean Ann Shayne, the duo behind the renowned knitting web log masondixonknitting.com. In this book, Kay and Ann chitchat their way through a series of more than thirty incredible patterns. Drawing creative inspiration from their surroundings, they present colorful blankets, sassy nightgowns, a delicate curtain, and much more to reveal that knitting can weave its way into just about every aspect of life.

Morehouse Farm Merino Knits

Provides detailed instructions and patterns for forty-five original merino wool handknit projects, featuring a creative array of sweaters, baby garments, mittens, and blankets, complemented by informative sidebars on merino yarns, tales of life on the farm, and tips on the care of the wool. 20,000 first printing.

Finger knitting for kids : super cute & easy things to make

Finger Knitting for Kids shows young crafters (and their parents) how to make cute and easy knitted pieces using only their fingers and a bit of yarn. Clear and simple step-by-step lessons walk them through a series of delightful projects--ranging from simple knitted hair ties and bags to braided scarves and pom pom hats.

Kids Knitting

In fifteen easy projects, from bouncy bean bags to a rolled-edge sweater, author and knitting expert Melanie Falick teaches kids of all ages how to knit. Through step-by-step instructions and candy-colored illustrations, beginners learn the fundamentals: knitting tools, finger-knitting, and basic stitches such as knit, purl, mattress, overcast, embroidery, and stockinette. Kids Knitting emphasizes fun in every step of the learning process. Sunny paintings by Kristin Nicholas illustrate the individual steps of each technique. Bright boxes of blues, greens, and reds explain everything from button-sewing to tassel-tying.

Cool Knitting for Kids: a Fun and Creative Introduction to Fiber Art

Learn about the basics of fiber arts while creating cool stuff. The Cool Knitting for Kids title teaches the first steps of how to knit. Activities will help kids use what they learned to make warm mitts for your hands, a simple scarf, hand-dyed yarn and more. Custom how-to photos and easy step-by-step instructions make crafting a blast.

Extra Yarn

From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller. A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic. Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.

A Hat for Mrs. Goldman

This heartwarming winter story is perfect for those who love to knit and parents looking to teach their children about the importance of doing good for others! Mrs. Goldman always knits hats for everyone in the neighborhood, and Sophia, who thinks knitting is too hard, helps by making the pom-poms. But now winter is here, and Mrs. Goldman herself doesn't have a hat-she's too busy making hats for everyone else! It's up to Sophia to buckle down and knit a hat for Mrs. Goldman. " A celebration of winter mitzvahs, or kind deeds. Karas's adorable, radiant art adds to the heartwarming mood."--The New York Times

Knit Together

Drawing is fun, but knitting is better--because you can wear it! Knitting isn't easy, though, and can be a little frustrating. Maybe the best thing to do is combine talents. A trip to the beach offers plenty of inspiration. Soon mom and daughter are collaborating on a piece of art they can share together: a special drawing made into a knitted beach blanket. For every mom and daughter, this is an arts-and-crafts ode creative passion and working together.

It's a Purl Thing

Everyone's favorite chicks are back in this novel that weaves together knitting terms, lore, and timeless themes of friendship and self-discovery among four girls. Includes step-by-step instructions for four projects.

Knit Your Bit

Mikey's dad has left home to fight overseas during World War I, and Mikey wants to do something BIG to help. When his teacher suggests that the class participate in a knitting bee in Central Park to knit clothing for the troops, Mikey and his friends roll their eyes--knitting is for girls! But when the girls turn it into a competition, the boys just have to meet the challenge. Based on a real "Knit-In" event at Central Park in 1918, Knit Your Bit shows readers that making a lasting contribution is as easy as trying something new!

The Knitting Circle

Grieving over the sudden loss of her only child, Mary Baxter joins a knitting circle in Providence, Rhode Island, whose members not only teach her a variety of knitting techniques but also valuable lessons about friendship, love and redemption.

Knitting for Peace

Easy patterns for charity knitting projects from blankets to bears! All across America, people are knitting for peace. In yarn shops and private homes, churches and synagogues, schools and even prisons, they meet on weekday evenings or weekend afternoons to knit for others. The tradition goes back as far as Martha Washington, who spearheaded knitting efforts for the soldiers of the Revolutionary War, and has seen a recent flourishing in what is nowadays called "charity knitting," "community knitting," or "knitting for others." Knitting for Peace is an exceptional book that celebrates the long heritage of knitting for others.

Knitlandia

In Knitlandia, Parkes invite readers and devoted crafters on excursions to be savored, through seventeen of her most memorable journeys across the globe. Her knitting adventures span from the fjords of Iceland to a cozy yarn shop in Paris's thirteenth arrondissement. Parkes weaves her personal blend of wisdom and humor into this eloquently volume that is part personal travel narrative and part cultural history, touching the heart of what it means to live creatively.

Making Matters

Making Matters introduces craft agency, a feminist vision of new materialist rhetorics that enables scholars to identify how power circulates and sometimes stagnates within assemblages of actors and provides tools to rectify that uneven distribution. To recast new materialist rhetorics as inherently crafty, Leigh Gruwell historicizes and locates the concept of craft both within rhetorical history as well as in the disciplinary history of writing studies. Her investigation centers on three specific case studies: craftivism, the fibercraft website Ravelry, and the 2017 Women's March.

Making Is Connecting

In Making is Connecting, David Gauntlett argues that through making things, people engage with the world and create connections with each other. Both online and offline, we see that people want to make their mark on the world, and to make connections. During the previous century, the production of culture became dominated by professional elite producers. But today, a vast array of people are making and sharing their own ideas, videos, and other creative material online, as well as engaging in real-world crafts, art projects, and hands-on experiences. Gauntlett argues that we are seeing a shift from a 'sit-back-and-be-told culture' to a 'making-and-doing culture'.

Cult Media, Fandom, and Textiles

This book is the first to explore handicrafting practiced by media fans, their online fan communities and the multiple meanings they create. Based on in-depth ethnographic research into fans on the online social network for knitters, crocheters and crafters, Ravelry, Brigid Cherry explores textile craft by fans as both an artistic practice and transformative fan work. Fans of popular films and TV shows are increasingly engaging with textile crafts as a way of reworking, reimagining and engaging with cult media texts. Exploring key debates from textile and media theory, surrounding gender, domesticity, the culture industries, audiences and fan culture, this book is essential reading for students of textiles, media studies, fashion, cultural and gender studies.

Textiles, Community and Controversy

Taking a major textile artwork, The Knitting Map, as a central case study, this book interrogates the social, philosophical and critical issues surrounding contemporary textile art today. It explores gestures of community and controversy manifest in contemporary textile art practices, as both process and object. Created by more than 2,000 knitters from 22 different countries, who were mostly working-class women, The Knitting Map became the subject of national controversy in Ireland. Exploring the creation of this multi-modal artwork as a key moment in Irish art history, Textiles, Community and Controversy locates the work within a context of feminist arts practice.

Knitted Clothing Technology

This textbook is aimed at students of textile and clothing technology, textile and fashion design, and professionals in industry. It covers the specific techniques used to convert weft knitted fabric into garments. The book examines the particular techniques of shaping and construction, and the specialist assembly machinery which is characteristic of knitted fabric handling and distinguishes it from the handling of woven fabric. It also suggests future trends in the production of knitted garments.

No Idle Hands

Contents: Colonial Knitters -- Knitting for Liberty -- Knitting in the Circle of Domesticity -- Westward Knit! -- Knitting for the Blue -- Knitting for the Gray -- Mid-Century Knitters -- Sporty Victorian Knitters -- Old Knitters in New Roles -- Oh, Say Can You Knit -- For Sammy? -- Men and Children for Sammy, Too -- Flappers Versus the "Old-Fashioned Knitters" -- The Thirties Knitting Craze -- The Forties: Knitting in War and Peace -- Knitting from A to Z: Argyles to Zimmermann -- Knitting Now and WhitherKnit?

Knits and Pieces

Knits & Pieces is a definitive and entertaining illustrated guide to one of the world's most popular crafts, knitting. Revisit its earliest traces, uncover the useful (and the not-so-useful), the historical, the humourous... and discover how this universal craft often brings out the best in people, from knitting for soldiers' comforts during conflict and making warm woollies for charity to community yarn bombing. Complete with several iconic knitting patterns, Knits & Pieces is a must-have for both the yarn enthusiast and the casual crafter.