Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comparative Literature: Books

Catalogs

GIL-Find: GIL-Find is the UGA Libraries' catalog for locating books, ebooks, and media in the Main Library, Science Library, and Special Collections. GIL-Find also lets you search (and borrow from) the other libraries in the University System of Georgia -- just change the search option from "University of Georgia" to "University System of Georgia." When searching by subject, use the standardized Library of Congress Subject Headings to locate the most relevant books. For help viewing and downloading ebooks, see this guide.

WorldCat: A shared catalog of books owned by libraries worldwide, although mostly in North America, Great Britain, and Western Europe. Use the Advanced Search to search by subject.

Index Translationum: A bibliographical database listing translated books published in about 100 countries worldwide since 1979.

Google Books and HathiTrust: Although not traditional library catalogs, Google Books and HathiTrust are projects that digitized print collections in major university libraries. Both are useful in mining the contents of books on library shelves. Some of the books are out of copyright and may be read online. Others are still within copyright and can only be viewed in snippets, but you can still search for keywords within them. Once you've identified a book you need, if it's not available online click on 'Find in a library' or search GIL-Find. Since UGA is a member of HathiTrust, you can sign in, view books as PDFs, and create your own readings lists/bookshelves.

Full-Text Literary Works

LION: A searchable collection of over 350,000 full-text works of poetry, drama, and fiction.

Early English Books Online (EEBO): Digitized facsimiles of nearly every book, pamphlet, sermon, almanac, and other works  printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British North America between 1473-1700.

Eighteenth-Century Collections Online: Digitized texts of almost all items published in the U.K. between 1710-1800 as well as many North American publications from the same time period.

Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints, Series II, Evans 1801-1819: Full-text collection of books and pamphlets published in America during these years.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926: Full-text books, periodicals, pamphlets, and other documents published about America during these years.

ARTFL: More than 2,000 works of French literature, journalism, and other prose forms.

Gallica: Digitzed works from the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.

Goethes Werke: The complete German text of the Weimar edition of the works of Goethe.

Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro: Full text of 900 plays from the golden age of Spanish theatre.

Your Librarian

Kristin Nielsen's picture
Kristin Nielsen
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department
knielsen@uga.edu
706-542-0654

Chat with a Librarian