Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comparative Literature: Articles

Finding Journals

When you already have the complete reference to an article (title, author, journal title, date), search the journal title in GIL Find to see if UGA owns it online or in hard copy.

Can't get it at UGA? See your options for getting the article from another library.

Literary Criticism

MLA International Bibliography, 1926-present: The major source for locating scholarly articles and book chapters in literary criticism and language studies. The MLA DIrectory of Periodicals is also searchable through this database.

JSTOR: A collection of full-text scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage begins with the journal's first issue, and JSTOR's "rolling wall" means the past 3-5 years are usually not available

Project Muse: Like JSTOR, Project Muse is a collection of full-text scholarly journals in literature, the humanities, and some social sciences.

Multi-Search: A combined search of GIL and about 90 GALILEO databases including the MLA Bibliography and others in fields outside of literature. This guide includes instructions on setting up personal alerts from Multi-Search for new journal issues, articles on a topic, or articles by an author.

Related Article Indexes

By time period:

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB): The most comprehensive and current listing of journal articles in medieval studies.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 1859-present: An index to articles and other scholarly publications about literature, history, religion, philosophy, art, and other subjects during the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.

L'Année Philologique, 1959-present online; 1914-1958 in reference collection: Annual index to the field of Classical Studies covering journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and book reviews.

By genre:

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, 1984-present: Articles and book chapters in drama and related fields; IBTD is also part of Multi-Search.

Film & Television Literature Index, 1972-present: Articles and reviews from film journals and magazines; FTLI is also part of Multi-Search.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database, 1996-present: A catalog of children's books with reviews.

By region:

Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1971-present: An index to mostly Western-language humanities and social science journals and books on all regions of Asia.

Germanistik: A quarterly bibliography of scholarly journals and books in German language and literature. The online version covers 2009-present;  earlier years back to 1960 are shelved on the second floor of the Main Library at call number Z7037 .G37.

Annual Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies, 1990-present: An index to U.S. and Canadian humanities and social sciences publications about East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet states.

Fuente Académica Premier, 1922-present: Full text scholarly journals from Latin America, Spain, and Portugal.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index, 1970-present: Index to articles on Latin America and on Hispanics in the U.S.

Fonte Acadêmica, 1994-present: Full text scholarly journals from Portugal and Brazil.

Ethnic Newswatch, 1980-present: Articles, mostly full text, from the U.S. ethnic, minority, and and native presses.

Genderwatch, 1970-present: Articles, mostly full text, from popular and scholarly periodicals on women and gender.

Your Librarian

Kristin Nielsen's picture
Kristin Nielsen
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department
knielsen@uga.edu
706-542-0654

Chat with a Librarian