Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHIL 4230/6230 Aesthetics (Meskin): Finding Images

ARTstor Image Database

Artstor is the most extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use.  To download images you must create a username and password. 

Open Source Image Databases

Video & Film

GIL-Find: Search the catalog to see what films the UGA Libraries own.  You can also browse by genre/language in the Media Desk Catalog.  UGA students, faculty, and staff can check out materials from the collection of commercially distributed motion pictures, television, and radio programs.

Guide to Citing Images

If you are using images that you did not create, you must cite it.  Format citations according to the citation style you are using ( Chicago Manual of Style, MLA, APA, etc.).   Here are a few basic guidelines:

  • Give attribution to image creators in citations and credit statements to acknowledge authorship
  • Indicate when using a personal photograph
  • Include source information

Include the following information for images acquired through an image database like Artstor:

  • Creator's name;
  • Title of the work, as given;
  • Location of the work (museum, library or owning institution, if known);
  • Date of the work;
  • Database collection, if known;
  • Rights information, if known.

For detailed guidelines on in-text and bibliographic citations of images, visit this guide
Credit: MIT Libraries Image Resource Guide

Image Citing Templates

​Below are examples in Chicago style citations by type.

Include the artist’s name, title of work (italicized), date, medium, measurements, and the institution which houses the work.

Include the source the image came from, preceded by a statement which declares the source (for example “In;” or “Source:” or “Available from:”).  If the source is online, include the URL and the date accessed.

Image from a Book:

Alice NeelNancy and the Rubber Plant.  1975, Oil on canvas, 203.2 x 91.3 cm.  The Estate of Alice Neel.  From:  Ann Temkin et al.  Alice Neel.  New York:  Harry N. Abrams, 2000.  Plate 64.

Image from ARTstor:

Rogier van der WeydenSaint Catherine of Alexandria.  1430-1432, Diptych panel, 18.5 x 12 cm.  Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna, Austria.  Available from:  ARTstorhttp://www.artstor.org (accessed June 19, 2019).

Image from Museum Website:

Caravaggio (Michelangelo Merisi). The Musicians. Ca. 1595. Oil on canvas, 36 1/4 x 46 5/8 in. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. From: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, http://www.metmuseum.org (accessed June 19, 2019).

Image from Flickr Commons:

Thomas EakinsWilliam Rudolf O’Donovan.  1981, Black and while photographic print, 6 x 8 cm.  Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.  Available from:  Flickr Commons, http:// https://www.flickr.com/photos/smithsonian/2547841439 (accessed June 19, 2019)

Image from Flickr (personal images uploaded by individuals)

Friedrich von Schmidt, Vienna Rathaus.  1872-1883. Source:  -keka-, Rathaus, Vienna.  2014.  Digital Image.  Available from:  Flickr, https://www.flickr.com/photos/88975201@N05/13891404251 (accessed June 19, 2019)

Below are examples in MLA style citations by type.

Image reproduced from a printed source

Artist’s last name, first name. Title of art work, in italics. Date of art work. Medium.  Institution where art work is housed (if known), city where housed if not already named. Title of printed source, in italics. By Author of printed source. Place of publication: publisher, date. Page or plate/figure/slide number. Print.

Rousseau, Henri.  The Ship in the Storm.  1896.  Musée de l’Orangerie, Paris.  Henri Rousseau:  Jungles in Paris.  By Claire Fresches, et al.  Washington:  National Gallery of Art, 2006.  232.  Print.

Image from an electronic source:

Artist's last name, first name.  Title of Art Work in Italics.  Date of art work.  Institution where art work is housed (if known),  City where art work is housed (if not already named).  Database or website name.  Web.  Day month year accessed.

Image from ARTstor

Cassatt, Mary.  Denise at Her Dressing Table.  ca. 1908-09.  Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.  ARTstor.  Web. 18 June 2019. <http://www.artstor.org>.

Image found on the open Web

Citation includes: Artist. Title of Work. Date of Work. Museum or Collection, City. Database/Web Site. Date Accessed. URL (optional).

Backhuyzen, Ludolf.  A Battle at Sea.  1692.  J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles, CA.  The Getty.  Web.  18 June 2019. www.getty.edu

Image from a Library Database

If known, the collection which owns the image should be included, along with its location.

De Chirico, Giorgio.  Soothsayer’s Recompense.  1913.  Philadelphia (PA) Museum of Art.  Grove Art Online.  Web.  18 June 2019.

Work of Art viewed in person at a Museum 

Citation includes: Artist. Title of Work. Date of Work. Medium of Composition. Museum, City where Museum is located.

Atget, Jean-Eugène-Auguste.  Boulevard de Strasbourg (Corsets). 1912.  Photograph.  Art Institute of Chicago.

Goya, Francisco.  The Family of Charles IV.  1800.  Oil on Canvas.  Museo del Prado, Madrid.