GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: PHIL 4230/6230 Aesthetics (Meskin): Sources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Background Information

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (online)
Comprehensive online encyclopedia of philosophy terms and concepts from all areas of the discipline.
Philosophy Compass
Peer-reviewed surveys of current research from across the entire discipline, with the aim of providing topical and significant research on a monthly basis.

The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (online)
Publication Date: 2014
Surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society, from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory.

Articles & Books

PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index and bibliography of books, journals, and journal articles in Philosophy. Also links to open access archives and personal pages for articles by academic philosophers.
PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

Multisearch
Search 130+ GALILEO databases, the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog and the Digital Library of Georgia for full-text articles, books and much more in a single streamlined search

Journals in Aesthetics

GILFind Catalog of what the UGA Libraries own and where we keep it.
GIL Express: Catalog of libraries across the University System of Georgia; click "Request" to get a book from another library.
WorldCat: A global catalog of library collections. Find materials in libraries in your community or around the world.
Google Books and HathiTrust Digitized print collections from a number of major university libraries. Both are useful for mining the contents of books on library shelves. Most of the books from the 20th-21st century are still in copyright and can only be viewed in snippets online. You can still often view tables of contents and introductions as well as search for keywords within the book. Once you've identified a book you can use, search GIL-Find to see if UGA owns it.

Citing & Annotating

Citing Sources
Purdue Owl Website
A credible and free source for citation formatting in major styles (Chicago, MLA, APA, etc.)

Annotating Sources
Purdue Guide to Annotated Bibliographies
A useful overview on creating annotated bibliographies that includes a breakdown of the format and sample annotations.

Cornell Library Guide to Annotated Bibliographies
A quick guide to making annotations, including explanation, process, directions, and examples.

Your Librarian

PHIL 4230/6230 Aesthetics (Meskin): Sources