It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PHIL 4230/6230 Aesthetics (Meskin): Finding Sources
Use this guide to help you locate and cite books, articles, images and other resources for your Aesthetics micro assignment and research paper. Feel free to email me anytime this semester if you have library questions or would like to make an appointment to discuss your research (email@example.com).
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works are a great place to start for background and can help you:
understand the basics of your topic, in clear nontechnical language.
identify useful keywords that you can use to search for articles or books.
find the titles of scholarly books and articles on your topic (look in the bibliography).
Encyclopedic resource covering art history and artists worldwide.
The Grove Dictionary of Art provides online access to the entire text of the 34-volume Dictionary of Art plus newly-commissioned articles. The database includes over 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present. Through an alliance with The Bridgeman Art Library, the database offers access to over 130,000 searchable images.
Combining Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete, covering over 630 full-text journals, plus full-text books and over 63,000 images.
Art & Architecture Source is a database that combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete. This new database covers over 630 full-text journals and more than 220 full-text books and includes over 63,000 images as well as art reproduction records.
Access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Search 130+ GALILEO databases, the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog and the Digital Library of Georgia for full-text articles, books and much more in a single streamlined search
GILFind Catalog of what the UGA Libraries own and where we keep it.
GIL Express: Catalog of libraries across the University System of Georgia; click "Request" to get a book from another library.
WorldCat: A global catalog of library collections. Find materials in libraries in your community or around the world.
Google Books and HathiTrust Digitized print collections from a number of major university libraries. Both are useful for mining the contents of books on library shelves. Most of the books from the 20th-21st century are still in copyright and can only be viewed in snippets online. You can still often view tables of contents and introductions as well as search for keywords within the book. Once you've identified a book you can use, search GIL-Find to see if UGA owns it.
See examples of how to format different types of sources (book, article, website, etc.) in various citation styles: