GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: History of Slavery at the University of Georgia: Other Repositories

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Other Repositories

Many sources on the topic of slavery at the University of Georgia can be located off campus or through non-UGA websites. Some of the links below navigate to known items at other repositories, while others connect to the search pages of institutions that may have relevant collections on this topic.

Athens Area Resources

Finding aid for Athens-Clarke County Courthouse records
The Athens-Clarke County courthouse is home to wills, inventory and appraisement, minute books, and other resources.
Clarke-Oconee Genealogical Society website
This resource includes a transcribed, sortable 1850 Clarke County Slave Census and an index to the 1850 Clarke County Tax Digests. Bound volumes of the Clarke County Tax Digests can be accessed in the Hargrett Library's reading room under call number Hargr Ref F292.C5 P37.
Dr. J.B. Carlton freedmen medical care ledger, Heritage Room, Athens-Clarke County Library

Federal Repositories

Josiah Meigs correspondence, 1820-1822, Smithsonian Institution Archives
"Slave payroll," August 1864, Athens, GA held by the National Archives, Washington, DC
The National Archives and the Library of Congress both archive historic records documenting the lives of enslaved people and slave owners. Some of these records are digitized and available online.
Federal Writers' Project: Slave Narrative Project, Vol. 4, Georgia, Library of Congress
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. The Georgia volumes covered many cities in towns in the state, including Athens.

Georgia Repositories

Georgia Archives
The Georgia Archives located in Morrow, Georgia is the official government archives of the State of Georgia. Many records pertaining to the University of Georgia are housed here.
Georgia Historical Society
The Georgia Historical Society, based in Savannah, describes itself as " the premier independent statewide institution responsible for collecting, examining, and teaching Georgia history."
James Osgood Andrew Clark papers (1807-1945), Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library, Emory University

History of Slavery at the University of Georgia: Other Repositories

Other Repositories

Athens Area Resources

Federal Repositories

Georgia Repositories

Other Institutions