Election 2022: Home

December 6th is Election Day for the Runoff Election for US Senate between Raphael Warnock and Herschel Walker.  

• Advance voting information can be found here.
• Registered voters voting on Election Day will have to go to their local polling precinct.  Look this up here:  https://mvp.sos.ga.gov/s/
• If you live in a different county, look up local Board of Elections here for similar information:  https://sos.ga.gov/elections-division-georgia-secretary-states-office

Remember that newspapers will often report on news stories, and then have separate endorsement pieces from the editorial board in the opinion section.  When doing research try to get information from a variety of sources to ensure comprehensive coverage.

• The Atlanta Press Club hosts debates.  View them on YouTube:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTbP2U4Y9Sx-MfWdJ93BNGw/videos
• The Atlanta Journal Constitution election news stories:  https://www.ajc.com/politics/.  If you need to bypass the paywall, the UGA Libraries provides full text access to the AJC
• Athens News Matters (from WUGA) has interviewed most of the local candidates on the show:  https://www.wuga.org/show/athens-news-matters

• The Athens Banner Herald lists its election news articles on one page: https://www.onlineathens.com/news/politics-elections/  
• The Flagpole reports on local races and candidates:  https://flagpole.com/tag/2022-election/
• Political Rewind (from GPB) covers politics in Georgia, and has spent a lot of time reporting and interviewing for the election:  https://www.npr.org/podcasts/487480863/political-rewind
• A lot of smaller regional GA newspapers have good coverage as well.  The best way to search these is to use the Libraries’ Access World News Database.  It covers a lot of Georgia newspapers, and has an easy-to-use searchable format:  http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=accw-uga1&inst=uga1

• Access World News:  Regional, national, and international news coverage.
• Factiva:  Factiva's News Pages offers a list of the current headlines from the most popular newspapers.  It is the easiest way to browse multiple newspapers at once without hitting a payall.  Click on "Home" at the top of the Factiva Page to view its virtual newsstand.
• Duck Duck Go:  Google weights the news articles it shows you based on your previous search history and which websites you visit the most.  This can lead to bias in the types of news sources you read.  Duck Duck Go is a Google-like search engine that anonymizes you so that you get unweighted results when you search.
• UGA Student Access to the Wall Street Journal
• Access to New York Times via Athens Regional Library System

Comics by The Awkward Yeti!