Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Census Schedules at UGA Libraries: Population Schedules

Listing of the collections of historical Census schedules available at the UGA Libraries.

Information to be found in the Population Schedules

The information in the decennial census population schedules was subject to change from census year to census year, however a core of demographic information was generally collected every census

  • age
  • sex
  • race
  • family relationship
  • and many other items depending on the census year...
    • occupation, education, whether renter or owner, year of immigration, etc. 

The members of each family within each housing unit are grouped together starting with the head of family for whom the first and last name is given, followed by a separate row for each of the other members in the household, generally identified by the first name or in many cases by initials only.  A housing unit might contain one or more families as well as single persons not obviously related to any particular family in the unit.  These individuals might represent independent boarders, employees, etc.  A family listing can begin on any row of the schedule page.

To see facsimiles of the population schedules and discussion of changes between each census see Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000.

Where to find the Population Schedules

Ancestry Library Edition (in GALILEO@uga) provides the most complete collection digitally.  Available at all desktop computers in the Main & Science Libraries, CMC library, Miller Learning Center, and the Russell Special Collection Library. Temporarily available off campus to UGA faculty, students, and staff.

On the Ancestry Library Edition home page find the Search Census box and click Search Now.  You can now search for individuals across all the census schedules.  Or, you can browse the schedules in sequential order for a specific town/district: Scroll down to 'Included Data Collections' in the lower left and choose from among the schedules listed. The population schedules are labeled '[year] United States Federal Census'.  The 'Browse this collection' box will now appear on the right side of the screen.  Just follow the steps.

Alternate way to access: Main Library basement, Microfilm cabinets.  Readers & digital scanner/printers are located near the elevators.  See the grid below for call numbers and holdings.

Reels for each census year are arranged alphabetically by county.  A single reel may contain one or more counties. The label on the reel box gives the range of counties covered. 

For users of the microfilm, there are also name indexes called "Soundex" on microfilm which provide an index to the many spelling variants of names found in the censuses.  These reels are filed after their respective sets of population schedules.  A brief printed guide to using the Soundex system is located on top of the microfilm cabinets. For some researchers, the Soundex system might offer a useful alternative for tracking down the census records of individuals with surnames with many spelling variants.

Your Librarian

John Prechtel's picture
John Prechtel
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department

706 542 3472
prechtel@uga.edu
Website
Subjects:Law

Chat with a Librarian

states and years of census population schedules on microfilm at UGA Libraries

    1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th
  call number 1790 1800 1810 1820 1830 1840 1850 1860 1870 1880 1890
AL FILM HA222 .A4         X X X X X X **
AR FILM HA252 .A4         X X X X X X  
FL FILM HA312 .A4         X X X X X X  
GA FILM HA322 .A4 *     X X X X X X X **
KY FILM HA392 .A4     X X X X X X X X  
LA FILM HA402 .A4     X X X X X X X X  
MD FILM HA422 .A4 * X X X X X X X X X  
MS FILM HA462 .A4       X X X X X X X  
MO FILM HA472 .A4         X X X X X X  
NC FILM HA522 .A4 * X X X X X X X X X **
NJ

FILM HA527 .S32

FILM HA527 .S85

*      

Sussex

Co.

Sussex

Co.

Sussex

Co.

Sussex

Co.

Sussex

Co.

Salem -

Warren

Co.

**
NY FILM HA547 .O5 A50 *      

Ontario

Co.

Ontario

Co.

Ontario

Co.

Ontario

Co.
    **
OH FILM HA577 D43 A50          

Delaware

Co.

        **
PA FILM HA601 .A3 *      

Pike -

York Co.

           
SC FILM HA622 .A4 * X X X X X X X X X  
TN FILM HA642 .A4     X X X X X X X X  
TX FILM HA652 .A4             X X X X **
VA FILM HA682 .A4 *   X X X X X X X X  
WA FILM HA692 .A4                   X  
WV FILM HA702 .A4                 X X  

 

  12th 13th 14th 15th
  1900 1910 1920 1930
AL X X X  
AR X X X  
FL X X X  
GA X X X X
KY X X X  
LA X X X  
MD X X X  
MS X X X  
MO X X X  
NC X X X  
SC X X X  
TN X X X  
TX X X X  
VA X X X  
WV X X X  

* The First U.S. Census (1790) is contained in its entirety on three rolls of microfilm under the call number FILM HA201 .A4.  In addition to the states marked with an asterisk in the grid above, this set includes DE, CT, RI, MA, and NH.  The end of roll 3 also contains the 1840 Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services.

** Most of the Eleventh U.S. Census (1890) schedules were destroyed by fire in 1921.  The very few surviving fragments of the 1890 schedules are reproduced in three microfilm rolls along with two additional rolls providing a name index.  These rolls are located under the call number FILM HA201 .A4. The states flagged with a double asterisk in the grid above as well as DC, IL, MN and SD have at least some schedules in this set.  Georgia's fragment is located entirely in Muscogee County.  Some researchers might also find value in the Special Schedules of the Eleventh Census (1890) Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War covered in this guide under the tab "other population census schedules".