Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Census Schedules at UGA Libraries: Federal Mortality Census Schedules

Listing of the collections of historical Census schedules available at the UGA Libraries.

Information to be found in the Mortality Census Schedules

The Federal Mortality Census Schedules record deaths registered by county during the year preceding the decennial censuses 1850-1880.  Items of information recorded generally include...

- name
- age
- sex
- color
- free or slave
- married or widowed
- place of birth (state or territory in the U.S., or foreign country)
- month deceased
- profession
- disease, or cause of death
- number of days ill
- attending physician signature
- infrequently: how long the deceased resided in the county and the place where the disease was contracted if different than the place of death

Some schedules include an appendix listing by counties the physicians who were practicing at the time and whose signatures appear in the Mortality Records.

The Federal Mortality Census Schedules (1850, 1860) are the only census schedules where the names of slaves occasionally appear.

Where to find the Mortality Census Schedules

Ancestry Library Edition (in GALILEO@uga) provides the most complete collection digitally.  Available at all desktop computers in the Main & Science Libraries, CMC library, Miller Learning Center, and the Russell Special Collection Library. Temporarily available off campus to UGA faculty, students, and staff.

On the Ancestry Library Edition home page find the Search Census box and click Search Now.  To browse the mortality schedules by county: scroll down to 'Included Data Collections' in the lower left and choose 'U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885'.  The 'Browse this collection' box will appear on the right side of the screen.  Just follow the steps.

Alternate way to access: Main Library basement, Microfilm cabinets.  Readers & digital scanner/printers are located near the elevators.  See the grid below for call numbers and holdings.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
John Prechtel
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department

706 542 3472
prechtel@uga.edu
Website
Subjects: Law

Chat with a Librarian

reel guide to the Federal Census Mortality Schedules

Call Number & Reel State Year County/Parish Index and/or Schedules

FILM
HA 195
.A50

       
1 AZ 1870 Mohave-Yuma index and schedules
2 AZ 1880 Apache-Yuma index and schedules
3 CO 1870 Arapahoe-Weld schedules
4 CO 1880 Arapahoe-Weld schedules
5 DC 1850-70   index and schedules
6 DC 1880   index and schedules
7 GA 1850 Appling-Wilkinson index and schedules
8 GA 1860 Appling-Worth index and schedules
9 GA 1870 Appling-Worth index and schedules
10 GA 1880 Appling-Franklin schedules
11 GA 1880 Fulton-Pulaski schedules
12 GA 1880 Putnam-Worth schedules
13 KY 1850 Pendleton-Woodford index and schedules
14 KY 1860 Adair-Woodford index and schedules
15 KY 1870 Adair-Woodford index and schedules
16 KY 1880 A-Mere index and abstracts
17 KY 1880 Meri-Z index and abstracts
18 KY 1880 Adair-Jackson schedules
19 KY 1880 Jefferson-Mason schedules
20 KY 1880 Meade-Woodford schedules
21 LA 1850 Ascension-Vermillion Parish index and schedules
22 LA 1860 Ascension-Winn Parish index and schedules
23 LA 1870 Ascension-Winn Parish index and schedules
24 LA 1880 Ascension-Natchitoches Parish index and abstracts, A-Z; schedules, A-N
25 LA 1880 Orleans-Winn Parish schedules
26 TN 1850 Anderson-Wilson index and schedules
27 TN 1860 Anderson-Wilson index and schedules
28 TN 1880 Anderson-Greene schedules
29 TN 1880 Grundy-Moore schedules
30 TN 1880 Morgan-Wilson schedules

FILM
HA 622
.A2
1850
PT. 4

       
1 SC

1850 -

1860

  schedules ?
2 SC 1870   schedules ?
3 SC 1880   schedules ?