Note: these databases are not indexed in the Multisearch!
Europa World: Contains detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.
Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Statista: A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.
IMF eLibrary: Contains documents published by the International Monetary Fund on all countries.
OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) : Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.
UN iLibrary: Searchable database of UN reports organized by country and theme.
ProQuest Statistical Insight : Coverage ranges across many topics including income, production, retail and wholesale trade, interest rates, economic indicators, demographics, energy, environmental protection, agriculture and fisheries, crime, medicine, and education.
UN Statistical Yearbook : Easy to navigate Yearbook of country statistics.
For more specific statistics (like education, finance), you can search the UNdata website. It includes links to the online statistical abstracts of most nations.
Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:
If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:
If it does NOT have those links:
All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.
You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.
First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want. Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu. Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.
Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.
After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link. The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.
If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system. This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.
ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy. They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.
Top databases for academic research in International Affairs;
The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 130 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.
1) The Multi Search doesn't search everything the Libraries has access to electronically. We have over 500 databases and this resource searches only a quarter of them. There are several excellent databases that aren't in the Multi Search!
2) Beware of the fire hydrant effect! If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this. Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need. If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database for International Affairs.
3) It is easy to get mixed up on what is academic research and what is not. Make sure you check the "Scholarly Peer Reviewed" box.
UGA has specific databases that only contain research in International Affairs. These are often easier to search than the Multi Search.
Articles from scholarly and popular journals and other publications on gender in cultural, social, and historical context.
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.
Publications on African and African studies that focuses on the social and environmental sciences, development studies, humanities and arts, with some coverage of the health and natural sciences.
North American research on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union.
Index to social sciences and humanities research on the Far East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Index to articles on Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Index to journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim World, from 1906 to the present.
This database contains more than 630,000 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present.
You can also Request books from a Library that can be delivered to other Libraries on campus.
First, Sign in to your Library Account using your MyID and password. After you click on the link for the book, under "Get It," you should see a link: "Request."
Choose which library you want the book delivered to and it will be held for you. (You also can do this with books from other USG libraries and have them delivered to UGA).