ENGL 1102: Multicultural American Literature: Culture and Context (Hammock): Historical Articles

Cover of Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century:  Full text of seven African-American papers between 1827-1900.

New York Times HIstorical Full Text, 1856-2010: Searchable full scans of the newspaper; excellent for primary accounts of historical events. UGA also has similar databases for the Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2000), Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), and Washington Post (1877-1997). Other historic Georgia newspapers have been digitized by the Digital Library of Georgia.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1928: Digitized copies of hundreds of American newspapers.

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900: Full text of over 1,100 American magazines and journals.

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection, 1691-1877: Full text of over 6,500 American journals.

Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982: The major index to mainsteam magazines in the U.S. during the 20th century.

The Liberator (1831–1865) was a weekly abolitionist newspaper, printed and published in Boston by William Lloyd Garrison and, through 1839, by Isaac Knapp. There are several places that you can search for The Liberator. Not all sources will have PDFs of the newspaper, but many do. Keep in mind that many scans of The Liberator are old, and may be unsearchable PDF or image files. This means that you may not be able to search for a quote. You might need to use Google to search the quote and get a date, and then find the correct PDF or image file of the newspaper issue for that date.

Resources for searching The Liberator (updated 1/27/25)

• Databases:
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    • Some of the newspaper full text is searchable, so this is the best to use.
  • American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 2 Publications - The Liberator
    • Titles of articles are searchable.
• Library of Congress - Has image files of all front pages of The Liberator, and some links to other sources.
  • Overview Page
  • Results set

When citing The Liberator in MLA, cite the original source, and then consult the MLA guide or your instructor to determine if the link to the online database or source of the PDF or image is needed.