Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1102: Multicultural American Literature: Culture and Context (Vasconcelos): Articles

James Baldwin

Cover of Sonny's Blues and Other Stories by James Baldwin.

Articles on Literature and History

Multi-Search: A combined search of GIL and about 100 GALILEO databases including ones for articles in literature, history, film, art, music, and more. Search tips:
--Put phrases and titles in quotation marks: "sonny's blues"
--Not finding enough on a specific text? Go to 'Advanced Search' and choose "Also search within the full text of the articles." 
--Getting too many irrelevant results from Multi-Search? Try searching one of the more focused databases separately:

Literary criticism: MLA International Bibliography includes scholarly articles and book chapters in literary criticism and language studies.

Drama:  International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance includes scholarly articles and some book chapters in the performing arts.

U.S. History:  America: History & Life includes scholarly articles and book chapters in North American History.

World History:  Historical Abstracts includes scholarly articles and book chapters on history outside North America.

JSTOR is a collection of full-text scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage begins with the journal's first issue, and JSTOR's "rolling wall" means the past 3-5 years are often not available.

Project Muse is another database with full-text scholarly journals.

Articles on Multicultural America

Hispanic American Periodicals Index: Articles on Latin America and on Hispanics in the U.S.

Ethnic Newswatch: Articles, mostly full text, from the U.S. ethnic, minority, and and native presses.

Genderwatch Articles, mostly full text, from popular and scholarly periodicals on women and gender.

Race Relations Abstracts: Articles on race and ethnicity from a sociological viewpoint.

Librarian

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Kristin Nielsen
she/her/hers
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department
knielsen@uga.edu
706-542-0654

Chat with a Librarian