Russian & Slavic Studies: Articles

GALILEO@UGA is our gateway to hundreds of databases. Many of them index journal, magazine or newspaper articles.

Search a database to find articles on your topic. Some databases will give you the full text of the articles. Other databases will require you to click the  button to see if we have the full text online or in print.

Go to the UGA Libraries home page and click on the Research by Subject button:

You will get a menu of broad subject areas. Choose Languages, LIteratures & Linguistics, then Germanic Studies, where you will see a list of GALILEO Databases relevant to Germanic Studies.

Search more from 130+ GALILEO databases at once in the Multi-Search box on the Libraries homepage! It also includes the UGA Libraries' holdings in the GIL-Find catalog. 

But remember, there are many databases that are not included in Multi-Search, such as Germanistik and Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch.

You can also search Google Scholar for a wide range of articles and books.

If you do choose to use Google Scholar, you can set it up so that it knows you are a UGA student and will link you to the full text of articles we own, even if you are off campus. 

See: How to set up Google Scholar to always connect to full-text from off-campus.

ABSEEES contains North American (U.S. and Canadian) scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It provides bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications. It includes a mixture of humanities and social science topics. EBSCO, the provider of this database, intends to digitize the earlier print records back to 1956.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts focuses on the nature and structure of human speech, research in speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language, spelling, phonetics and the pathology of speech, and hearing. This database provides bibliographic citations. Over 2600 journals from 50 nations are reviewed for inclusion, as well as selected books, book chapters, and dissertations.

The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical in literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.

JSTOR provides online access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of important scholarly journals. It contains journal articles about the German language and linguistics, as well as German literature.