North American research on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union.
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) has been compiled continuously since 1956 under the auspices of the American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies (AAASS), and is maintained at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. ABSEES contains North American (U.S. and Canadian) scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It provides bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications. It includes a mixture of humanities and social science topics. EBSCO, the provider of this database, intends to digitize the earlier print records back to 1956.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts focuses on the nature and structure of human speech, research in speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language, spelling, phonetics and the pathology of speech, and hearing. This database provides bibliographic citations. Over 2600 journals from 50 nations are reviewed for inclusion, as well as selected books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Index to articles and books on modern languages, literatures, film, theatre, folklore, and linguistics.
The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical in literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, film, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. Classical Greek and Latin literature are not covered. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals is now part of the MLA International Bibliography. Included is information on the periodicals that are indexed in the database, plus many more. The Directory of Periodicals data is updated annually.