GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: Citation Searching for Tenure and Promotion: Article or Book Impact/Citation Analysis

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Explanatory Note:

The traditional metric for scholarly work is the number of times an article/book/conference paper, etc. is cited in scholarly literature. Web of Science and Google Scholar are the most comprehensive sources for citation counts, but they don't cover all disciplines equally well, particularly in the social sciences and humanities. For these fields, it may be necessary to search discipline specific databases as well.

For non-traditional article metrics such as coverage in social media (Facebook, Twitter, Blogs, online newsletters, etc.) click on the 'Altmetrics' tab.

Citation Tracking: Free Sources

Google Scholar:

Coverage is extensive, but not comprehensive.
Searches journal and conference papers, theses and dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports and other scholarly literature.
May contain duplication or variants of a single work, due to lack of unified control of author names or titles.
Contents updated several times a week, but corrections to existing citations can take months.
Does not appear to go as far back in time as Web of Knowledge and other databases

Can GS citation counts be gamed? Read Phil Davis' December 12, 2012 blogpost: Gaming Google Scholar Citations, Made Simple and Easy

CiteSeerX (Beta)

Focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Includes lists of most cited documents, citations and authors, and venue impact rating.

Guide to searching CiteSeerX

Cited Reference Searching in Full Text Databases (GALILEO)

Some full text databases such as those listed below don't have a 'cited reference' search option, but they allow you to do a keyword search for cited references.

Hein Online (Law),

Project Muse (Humanities & Social Sciences)

SpringerLink (Sciences)

Measuring Book Impact

Worldcat - A catalog of the combined holdings of thousands of libraries, primarily in the US and Europe. Search Worldcat to get an approximate idea of how many libraries own your book.

Google Scholar: Search for a book title in quotation marks (i.e. "Pedagogy of the Oppressed") If the book has been cited by publications found by Google Scholar, there will be a 'Cited By' link.

Other indicators of the reception of a book or book chapter may include:

use as a university textbook
listed on 'bestseller' lists
awards and honours received
number of copies sold, editions and translations into other languages
number of book reviews

Citation Tracking: Web of Science (GALILEO)

Cited Author Search Guide

Web of Science:

Designed specifically for cited reference searching
Most comprehensive in the sciences (weaker in social sciences and humanities)
Searches journal articles, conference proceedings (1990-present) and book chapters (2005-present).

Use Web of Science to:

Find articles that cite your work.

Search for all variants of your name/works.
Eliminate self-citations. Written Instructions
Create a citation map for your works.

Create Personalized Reports.

Citation Tracking in EbscoHost Databases (GALILEO)

Ebscohost databases that have either a or link at the top of the screen allow cited reference searching of the database's contents.

Open the Cited References tool and enter your name (or author you wish to search), date range, etc.
The resulting list will be articles written BY the cited author.
Click beside each title you want to see cited.
Click on the 'Find Citing Articles' button

These databases include: Abstracts in Social Gerontology, Academic Search Complete, Bibliography of Native North Americans, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Criminal Justice Abstracts, Education Research Complete, Film & Television Index with Full Text, GreenFILE, Hospitality & Tourism Complete, Humanities International Complete, LGBT Life with Full Text, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts With Full Text, Literary Reference Center, Political Science Complete, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, SocINDEX with Full Text, and Violence & Abuse Abstracts.

Citation Tracking in Other GALILEO Databases

Hover over database name for more details.

ACM Portal (Computer Science) This link opens in a new window
Online ACM journals, proceedings, transactions, and newsletter articles.
The ACM Portal is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles, proceedings, and transactions. It has two main sections: the ACM Digital Library, and the Guide to Computing Literature.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Articles published in the "Annual Review" journals which covers primarily the sciences but include some titles from medical and social science areas.
Annual Reviews, a nonprofit organization, provides critical, authoritative reviews of scholarly advances in various fields of science.Annual Reviews can be searched in its entirety or within each of the following suites: Biomedical Science, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences.
The Biomedical Science Suite is further subdivided as Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell and Developmental Biology, Ecology and Systematics, Entomology, Genetics, Genomics and Human Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology and Plant Molecular Biology, Psychology, and Public Health.
The Physical Science Suite is further subdivided as Astronomy and Astrophysics, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Materials Science, Nuclear and Particle Science, and Physical Chemistry.
The Social Science Suite is further subdivided as Anthropology, Energy and Environment, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers medicine, science, and some social sciences and humanities. Search for particular article, then click on the 'Citing Articles' link.
ScienceDirect provides full text access to scholarly journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Index and summaries of articles and books on mathematical research.
Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications are combined to form MathSciNet. Mathematical Reviews are abstracts of articles and books pertaining to the study of mathematics. Current Mathematical Publications is a listing of forthcoming and recently released math publications.
IEEE XPlore Digital Library (Electrical Engineering) This link opens in a new window
Contains journal articles and conference proceedings in electrical engineering and computer science. Search for a particular author or work, then click on 'Cited by'.
The content in IEEE Xplore comprises over 160 journals, over 1,200 conference proceedings, more than 3,800 technical standards, over 1,000 eBooks and over 300 educational courses. Approximately 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month. Please note: only IEEE journals and proceedings are available in this resource.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Online database which combines the Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and the CAS Registry database. Create a personal account for access.
Note: To use SciFinder Scholar you must CREATE AN ACCOUNT using an on-campus computer, campus wifi, or authenticate from off-campus
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains journal articles in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Search for a particular author or work. Click '(number) Items Citing This Item' to see citing works within the JSTOR database, or click 'Items Citing This Item' to see citing works in Google Scholar.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks primarily in the health, life, physical, and social sciences, some with full text.
Wiley Online provides full-text access to thousands of journals and ebooks covering almost all disciplines but with strengths in the sciences and social sciences. It also indexes the contents of journals and ebooks that are published by John Wiley but not part of UGA's Wiley Online subscription. Look for the yellow open lock icon for items you can access online. Other books and journals listed may be available in print in the library; search for them in the GIL Find catalog or the 'Journals' search on the Libraries' homepage.

Your Librarian

Citation Searching for Tenure and Promotion: Article or Book Impact/Citation Analysis