It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides a list of major library resources for the study of religion.
Index to journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim World, from 1906 to the present.
Index Islamicus The Index Islamicus online database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. Browsable indexes are available for the following fields: author, descriptors, journal name, personal name, publication type, and review author.
The major scholarly encyclopedia about the Islamic world.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam is the most authoritative reference source for understanding Islam and the Islamic world. The online encyclopedia includes both the second and third editions as well as all maps from The Historical Atlas of Islam. The second edition was published between 1960 and 2005 and includes articles on individuals, tribes and dynasties, geography and topography, cities and towns, political and religious institutions, sciences, arts, monuments, and the flora and fauna of the Islamic world throughout history. The second edition is also available in print in the Main Library Reference collection. The third edition began publishing in 2007 and consists of entirely new content focusing on Islam in the 20th century as well as Muslim minorities worldwide. New entries are added quarterly.
This online version of the 2-volume Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World provides a current and comprehensive examination of Islam's role in the modern world.
This multi-disciplinary work covers all aspects of Islam and its influence on human culture and society from antiquity to the present day. More than 500 entries written by experts and scholars from around the world and across disciplines address Islamic life, from political parties, reform and revolution to culture, art, belief and practices. Each entry includes cross-references and a bibliography, and volumes are fully illustrated with photographs, timelines, illustrations, and maps. Print version of this edition is available in the Main Library Reference Room: BP40 .E525 2004.
Authored by forty-three international experts, the objective of The Qur'an: An Encyclopedia is to present this diversity of thought, approach and school without priority, in order to give a strong appreciation of the range of response that the text has provoked throughout its history and providing students and researchers with a powerful one-volume resource covering all aspects of the text and its reception.
Index to articles, book reviews, and essays covering world religions, Biblical studies, church history and religious perspectives on social issues.
ATLA Religion Database covers world religions, Biblical studies, church history and religious perspectives on social issues. The database creates bibliographic citations for articles in 650 journals, essays and selected multi-author works. Subject coverage includes ethics, history of religions, church and state, religious education, liturgy, denominations, cults and sects, hermeneutics and methodology, war and religion, science and religion, and literature and religion. Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA).
Electronic version of the classic, 16-volume Encyclopedia of Religion, considered the standard, scholarly encyclopedia for the study of religion and religious beliefs worldwide.
This second, electronic edition presents a cross-cultural approach emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors. Long, signed articles from over 1,400 contributors address all aspects of religion, from doctrines, myths and theologies to ethics, cults, sacraments, and more. Includes a comprehensive index and synoptic outline of contents, and each article is followed by a bibliography for further research. The print version of this online edition is available in the Main Library Reference Room: BL31 .E46 2005.
Index and abstracts of journal articles and books on a mixture of humanities and social science topics relating to the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
Built on some earlier core bibliographies for the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, such as the School of Oriental and African Studies Library Catalogue, Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies covers primarily journal articles and books on a mixture of humanities and social science topics, including anthropology, history, economics, international relations and political science.
Full-text journal articles from selected sources (mostly American and in English), with good coverage for Religion and Ancient History, and excellent historical coverage (to the foundation of the journals); has a 5-year delay for most titles.
Sacred Texts & Primary Sources
Call Number Range: BP 100 - 157: Sacred books (Qur’an (Koran), Hadith, Sunna, Koranic legends)
Below is a small selection of online and print texts.
The B.G. Martin collection consists primarily of books in the field of Islamic history,with strengths in African (both North Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa), Yemeni, and Iranian Islamic history. More information about this collection can be found at http://www.libs.uga.edu/development/newsletter/fall2007/islamic.html
Projected to reach some 500 books over the next century, the Murty Classical Library of India is to encompass poetry and prose, history and philosophy, Buddhist, Muslim, and Hindu texts. Volumes will include not only Sanskrit texts but also works in Bangla, Hindi, Kannada, Marathi, Persian, Prakrit, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu and other languages.
Encyclopaedia Iranica Online offers numerous features to enhance your experience of its content, whether you are a scholar looking for specific information or a general reader interested in browsing its pages.
Compiles statistics from estimates, surveys, and religious bodies about adherents by geographic location and by group.
GILFind (http://gilfind.uga.edu) - Search our local catalog for books, DVD's, etcetera. Use Library of Congress Subject Headings to help you discover books and expand your search, for example:
Islam and politics.
Note on Transliteration / Romanization
The UGA Libraries use American Library Association and Library of Congress (ALA-LC) approved Romanization tables for the transliteration of records for Arabic, Ottoman Turkish, Persian, and Urdu into Roman script. To conduct successful searches in the Libraries' online catalog, it is important that search terms are entered in the correct fomat. To familiarize yourself with the Romanization system, check the PDFs of the current ALA-LC approved Romanization Tables for:
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by John L. Esposito (Editor)
Call Number: Main Ref DS35.53 .O96 2009
Six-volume encyclopedia provides coverage of the Islamic world, including its culture, politics, and religion, from the inception of Islam to present day. The "Islamic World" covers not only the Middle East and Southeast Asia, but also discusses the role Islam plays all across the world. Bibliographies are provided for articles allowing for further research.
Encyclopaedia of Islam
Call Number: Main Ref BP40 .E56 1960
The Encyclopaedia of Islam is the premier reference resource for studying the Islamic world. 1st and 2nd editions available in print in the Main Library; 2nd and 3rd editions available online through GALILEO (see link in Databases & E-Resources).
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
Call Number: Main Ref BP133 .E53 2001
The Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān is a five-volume reference work dedicated to the sacred text of Islam. The work covers major themes, cultures, concepts, places, and people featured in the Qurʾān. It also devotes considerable attention to commentary and interpretation of the Qurʾān over time. Bibliographies are provided with each entry for further research as well.
A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna E. Kassis
Call Number: Main Ref BP133 .K37 1983
This research tool for students of the Qur'an who are not fully conversant with the written Arabic language allows users to find deeper paths into understanding the text by linking English words and their corresponding transliterated Arabic terms to passages, chapters and verses in the Qur'an.
The Oxford Dictionary of Islam by John L. Esposito (Editor)
Call Number: Main Ref BP40 .O95 2003
Excellent introductory work focusing primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, stressing topics of most interest to Westerners in a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world.
Encyclopedia Iranica by Ehsan Yarshater (Editor)
Call Number: DS253 .E52
The Encyclopædia Iranica is dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The academic reference work will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women by Natana J. DeLong-Bas (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Main Ref BP173.4 .O94 2013 vol.1-2
Publication Date: 2013
Organized around the central conceptual themes in research on Islam and women including Self and Body, Immigration and Minorities, Culture and Expression, Politics and Polity, and Community and Society, as well as Science, Medicine and Education among others, this work examines the scholarship on Islam and women that has expanded exponentially over the past twenty years, as well as cross-pollination between other fields and disciplines.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women is based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World edited by John L. Esposito, and is one of four encyclopedias in the Islamic World series