Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases & E-resources
Full-text journal articles from selected sources (mostly American and in English), with good coverage for Religion and Ancient History, and excellent historical coverage (to the foundation of the journals); has a 5-year delay for most titles.
Sacred Texts & Primary Sources
Call Number Range: BS 701 - 2790: The Bible (Old and New Testaments, including early/modern versions, translations in other languages, criticism)
Below is a small selection of online and print texts.
The New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books
Main Library Reference Room, Main Ref BS191.5 .A1 2001 .N43
Older editions available for checkout on the 6th floor.
The Precise Parallel New Testament
Main Library 6th Floor BS2025 1995 .K6
Greek Text, King James Version, Rheims New Testament, Amplified Bible, New International Version, New Revised Standard Version, New American Bible, New American Standard Bible.
The Nag Hammadi Library in English
Main Library 6th Floor, BT1391 .A3 1996
Translated and introduced by members of the Coptic Gnostic Library Project of the Institute for Antiquity and Christianity, Claremont, California.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Extensive collection of classic theological works from all periods of church history.
Internet Sacred Text Archive of Christian Texts
The largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet.
New Testament Gateway
Web directory of internet resources on the New Testament. Browse or search annotated links on everything connected with the academic study of the New Testament and Christian Origins.
Website on Religion
Websites on Religion is a selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion. Please note, this database of resources has not been consistently maintained since 2014. Atla took ownership of the site from the Wabash Center in 2018 and will begin work on updating the links in late 2019.
ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the American Theological Library Association provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.
Compiles statistics from estimates, surveys, and religious bodies about adherents by geographic location and by group.
Many languages and versions, searchable texts, other tools.
GILFind (http://gilfind.uga.edu) - Search our local catalog for books, DVD's, etcetera. Use Library of Congress Subject Headings to help you discover books and expand your search, for example:
- Jesus Christ.
- Bible. > New Testament.
- Church history.
- Bible. > New Testament > Criticism, interpretation, etc.
- etcetera, etcetera
The Encyclopedia of Christianity by
Call Number: Main Ref BR95 .E8913 1999
Comprehensive, five-volume work proving information on many topics in Christianity. Entries are arranged alphabetically and longer articles are organized into distinct sections for easy browsing. Bibliographies are provided for each article providing access to further resources.
The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization by
Call Number: BR95 .E467 2011
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by
Call Number: Main Ref BR95 .O8 2005
Comprehensive work for terms relating to all aspects of the Christian church.
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by
Call Number: Main Ref PA881 .K513
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception
Call Number: Main Ref BS440 .E539 2009
Comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. At the same time, EBR also documents the history of the Bible's reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements. Projected to consist of thirty volumes to be published between 2009 and 2018.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by
Call Number: Main Ref BS440 .O93 2011
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by
Call Number: Main Ref BS440 .A54 1992
Up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.
New Testament Abstracts
Call Number: Main Ref BS410 .N35
Available in print in the Main Library Reference Room. Abstracts (short summaries) of articles from a huge range of Biblical Studies journals and other works. See index for list of sigla (abbreviations) for journals and book series abstracted.
The NRSV Concordance Unabridged
Call Number: Main Ref BS425 .K645 1991
Publication Date: 1991
Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by
Call Number: BS425 .S8 2007 (6th Floor)
Publication Date: 2007