It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides a list of major library resources for the study of religion.
Index to social sciences and humanities research on the Far East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Bibliography of Asian Studies covers all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia with an emphasis on the social sciences and humanities. Citations are primarily from western-language journals, books, conference proceedings, and anthologies. Provided by the Association for Asian Studies, Inc.
Index to articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology.
ATLA Religion Database covers world religions, Biblical studies, church history and religious perspectives on social issues. The database creates bibliographic citations for articles in 650 journals, essays and selected multi-author works. Subject coverage includes ethics, history of religions, church and state, religious education, liturgy, denominations, cults and sects, hermeneutics and methodology, war and religion, science and religion, and literature and religion. Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA).
Full-text journal articles from selected sources (mostly American and in English), with good coverage for Religion and Ancient History, and excellent historical coverage (to the foundation of the journals); has a 5-year delay for most titles.
Electronic version of the classic, 16-volume Encyclopedia of Religion, considered the standard, scholarly encyclopedia for the study of religion and religious beliefs worldwide.
This second, electronic edition presents a cross-cultural approach emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors. Long, signed articles from over 1,400 contributors address all aspects of religion, from doctrines, myths and theologies to ethics, cults, sacraments, and more. Includes a comprehensive index and synoptic outline of contents, and each article is followed by a bibliography for further research. The print version of this online edition is available in the Main Library Reference Room: BL31 .E46 2005.
Projected to reach some 500 books over the next century, the Murty Classical Library of India is to encompass poetry and prose, history and philosophy, Buddhist, Muslim, and Hindu texts. Volumes will include not only Sanskrit texts but also works in Bangla, Hindi, Kannada, Marathi, Persian, Prakrit, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu and other languages.
The Clay Sanskrit Library is a series of books covering a wide spectrum of Classical Sanskrit literature spanning two millennia. Covering works of drama, poetry, satire and novels, as well as the two famous epics, the Maha·bhárata and the Ramáyana. Eeach work features the original Sanskrit text in transliterated Roman letters on the left-hand page with its English translation on the facing page.
The Sacred Books of the East (SBE) series, comprising fifty volumes, was issued by the Oxford University Press between 1879 and 1910. It has translations of key sacred texts of Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism, Zoroastrianism, Jainism, and Islam. The series was edited by linguist and scholar of comparative religion, Max Müller. Available in print in the library and online via the Internate Sacred Text Archive (http://www.sacred-texts.com/sbe/)
This online text of the Rigveda derives from the highly important Rig Veda: a Metrically Restored Text, by Barend A. van Nooten and Gary B. Holland, published in 1994 by Harvard University Press. Also available in the Main Library, Call Number PK2971 .H3 v.50
1996 translation from the original Sanskrit by Patrick Olivelle available in the Main Library, BL1124.52 .E5 1996
"One of the world's most beautiful Ramayana manuscripts. The original was prepared for Maharana Jagat Singh, the ruler of the Rajput kingdom of Mewar in Rajasthan, in the middle of the seventeenth century. [...] Digitisation has made it possible for this long-divided manuscript to be brought together again for the first time in almost 200 years. The majority of text pages in the manuscript have been digitised as well as the paintings so that Valmiki’s work can be read in the original Sanskrit."
Dharmasūtras: The Law Codes of Āpastamba, Gautama, Baudhāyana, and Vasiṣṭha
Translated from the original Sanskrit and edited by Patrick Olivelle. Available in the Main Library, Call Number: B132 .D5 1999
Online (Prof. Peter Scharf, Director)"...A digital library dedicated to facilitating education and research in Sanskrit by providing access to digitized primary texts in Sanskrit and computerized research and study tools..." Although site registration is required for use, all resources are provided free of charge.
GILFind (http://gilfind.uga.edu) - Search our local catalog for books, DVD's, etcetera. Use Library of Congress Subject Headings to help you discover books and expand your search, for example:
Hindu literature, Sanskrit
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism by Knut A. Jacobsen (Editor-In-Chief)
A thematically organized encyclopedia, presenting the latest research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions.
Volume I: Regions, Pilgrimage, Deities
Volume II: Sacred Texts, Ritual Traditions, Arts, Concepts
Volume III: Society, Religious Specialists, Religious Traditions, Philosophy
Volume IV: Historical Perspectives, Poets/Teachers/Saints, Relation to Other Religions and Traditions, Hinduism and Contemporary Issues
Volume V: Religious Symbols, Hinduism and Migration, Some Modern Religious Groups and Teachers
Encyclopedia of Hinduism by Constance Jones; James Daniel Ryan; J. Gordon Melton (Editor)
Call Number: Main Ref BL1105 .J56 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Offering approximately 700 A-to-Z entries, this accessible encyclopedia focuses on the most significant groups within this religion, noteworthy teachers and their contributions, the religions and cultural movements that enriched its history, and the diaspora of Hindu thought and practice around the world.
A Dictionary of Hinduism by W. J. Johnson
Call Number: Main Ref BL1105 .J65 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This wide-ranging dictionary covers all aspects of Hinduism, including practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, and religious texts--everything from Tantra to temples, from bhakti to Divali.
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism by Jeffery D. Long
Call Number: Main Ref BL1105 .S85 1997
Publication Date: 2011
Presents the Hindu religious tradition's major events, individuals, texts, sects, and concepts in the context of its historical development through various periods.
Handbook of Hindu Mythology by George M. Williams
Call Number: Main Ref BL1111.4 .W55 2003
Including annotated bibliographies, a glossary of cultural and mythological terms, and numerous illustrations, the Handbook of Hindu Mythology provides a thorough introduction to a dauntingly complex mythology of multifaceted deities, lengthy heroic tales, and arcane philosophies-all with a 3,000-year history of reinterpretations and adaptations.
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend by Anna L. Dallapiccola
Call Number: Main Ref BL1105 .D34 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Provides a large number of accessible, informative and authoritative entries to answer any major question about Hinduism, its mythology, practices, customs and laws
Hinduism: A Very Short Introduction by Kim Knott
Call Number: E-book (also available in print, BL1202 .K564 1998)
In this Very Short Introduction, Kim Knott provides clear insight into the beliefs and authority of Hindus and Hinduism, and considers the ways in which it has been affected by colonialism and modernity.
Encyclopaedia of Indian Philosophies, v.1-6 by Karl H. Potter et. al.