Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTL 4770: War and Human Security: Primary Resources

First Person Accounts

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) : Full-text primary documents concerning U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.  This database covers US involvement in Latin America, Asia, and the Middle East.

Don't forget to search the Libraries catalog, GILFind, for first person narratives.  Add the words "sources", "interviews", or "manuscripts."

Newspapers

Many newspapers are an excelent source of primary source materials.  They report on statements made by government officials, interview participants, and provide basic conflict information.  

UGA has a wealth of resources in this area, including:

African Newspapers (NewsBank)  : Full text of African newspapers.  

Latin American Newspapers (NewsBank) : Full text of Latin American Newspapers.  

Ethnic NewsWatch  : Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press, in full text from the 1990s-present.  Includes international publications.

Google News Archive : Google News has an excellent aggregator of international web publications.  You can limit to a particular date specific to your conflict.

LexisNexis Academic  : Full text news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Most articles are in full text. Coverage varies by title, with more complete coverage generally from the mid-1990s to the present.  Includes publications from all over the world.

For an expanded list of International and North American Newspapers, go here.

News Organization Transcripts

Broadcast news organizations also possess a wealth of first person interviews and statements.  

NPR has a large portion of its historical news broadcasts digitized.

The Peabody Collection is an archive of submissions to the George Foster Peabody Awards, an annual recognition of the best efforts in broadcasting. Some video is available online.  This includes historical footage of world events.

Transcripts of news television programs can be found in LexisNexis.  Click on drop down menu under Search the News, By Source Type, and choose Broadcast Transcripts.

Your Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website