Historic Preservation : Home

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to borrow books, dissertations, and journal articles from libraries all over the world.

1. Log on (You will be asked to create an account if this is your first request)
2. Choose the type of item you are requesting (i.e. book or journal article)
3. Complete the citation information on the form and submit your request
4. ILL will contact you via email when it is ready for you to pick up or access online

GIL Express allows you to borrow books from other University System of Georgia institutions. 

1. Search the GIL Universal Catalog to find the book you want. 
2. Log in to initiate the request. You can choose to have the book sent to any library on campus, including the Art Library!
3. Pick up the book when you receive an email that it has arrived.
4. You can return the book to any USG library. Check for the status of your request and renew your book online in your GIL account. 

• Society of Architectural Historians - Archipedia - Online encyclopedia of American buildings with histories, maps, and statistics of more than 10K structures. Sign up for a free trial.
• National Register of Historic Places - See Research and Publications sections 
• Georgia Dept. of Natural Resources - Historic Preservation Division 
• The Great Buildings Collection - Search by building, architect, or places to find images of historic buildings
• National Trust for Historic Preservation
• Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
• UNESCO World Heritage
• Preservapedia - "Open source encyclopdeia focused specifically on technical material related to cultural resource management and its allied fields."
• PreserveNet - From Cornell University, "designed to provide preservationists with a comprehensive database of regularly updated internet resources and current professional opportunities." 

Laws

• National Historic Preservation Act - Enacted in 1966; last amended in 2006. This link is to a PDF of the latest version.
• Antiquities Act - Enacted in 1906; authorizes the U.S. president to proclaim landmarks and objects of historic or scientific interest (national monuments).

These guidelines, from the University System of Georgia, will help you determine if a text or image you plan to use falls under Fair Use. If you have questions, please consult with your thesis advisor or ask for assistance from me or the Scholarly Communication librarian, Mariann Burright (mariann@uga.edu). 

• Introduction to the Fair Use Checklist
• Fair Use Checklist

Use these databases to find full text biographies or, as in the case of the Biography and Genealogy Master Index, citations for biographical sources you can then find using the local catalog, GILFind. 

• American National Biography Online - Comprehensive encyclopedia of deceased persons of significance. 
• Biography and Genealogy Master Index - Index to printed sources of biographical information on people worldwide from all time periods. 
• Marquis Who’s Who on the Web - Biographies from various Who's Who publications. From 1985 to present.
• Oxford Dictionary of National Biography - Biographical encyclopedia of important figures in British history.
• African American Biographical Database - Biographical sketches with photographs and illustrations.  
• Ancestry Library Edition - Collection of databases, records, and advice on genealogical research. Available on library computers only.