Historic Preservation : Digital Images & Maps

Digital Library of Georgia - digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources. Includes more than a million digital objects in more than 200 collections from 60 institutions and 100 government agencies.

• Land and Resources section - Includes plats, maps, photographs, Georgia Historic Architecture & Landscape collection

Map Library - The Map and Government Information Library is located in the subbasement of the Main Library. Online collections include Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps,Aerial Photography, and more. See these thorough guides for more information and plenty of digital resources:

• Maps, Gazetteers, and Related Sources
• Aerial Photography and Remote Sensed Imagery 
• GIS Data

More Maps!

• Athens-Clarke County Environmental Areas
  A map depicting lakes, rivers, wetlands, floodplains, and waterway buffers.
• Athens-Clarke County​ Stormwater Map
  Interactive map of watersheds, bodies of water, impaired streams, and floodplains throughout Clarke County.
• Athens-Clarke County Tree Cover Map

Land Cover Maps - Shows changes in Georgia's land use from forest and agriculture to urban uses. Maps depict land cover types including urban, forest, agriculture, clearcut, and water.

• Clarke County Landcover Database
• Georgia Land Use Trends - Including data from the last 25 years on landcover, impervious surface, and tree canopy trends with an interactive map
• Clarke County Land Cover 1974 - 2005 (Interactive Map)
• EnviroMapper - The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency provides this online tool that generates maps showing Superfund sites, toxic releases, air emissions, hazardous waste, water discharge permits, and more.

• Plant ID
• Protected Plants of Georgia
• US Access Board (ADA)
• Whole Building Design Guide (ADA)

• Social Explorer - This U.S. demographics database allows you to visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. Coverage Dates: 1790-present. 

Look for the maps on US health (scroll down past Demography) after clicking Maps at the top. 

ARTstor is an ever-growing database of high-quality digital images for art, visual culture, media, and architecture studies. Note: To download images, users must register for a free personal login. Searching and viewing images does not require an individual login.

A few special features: 

• Save and share image collections for lectures or group projects
• Export directly into PowerPoint with metadata intact
• Zoom in and save detail images
• Create flashcards to review on your smartphone using ARTstore mobile
• Learn more through online video tutorials

Beyond Google Image Search

There are millions of images on the web, but quality can be variable and attribution/copyright dubious. With so many wonderful digital collections from museums, libraries, and institutes, you might find treasures in new places. Search OIAster for digital collections (images, manuscripts and other primary sources) on your subject.  

Getty Institute Open Content Program - The Getty announced they will open digital images from their collection to the public domain starting fall 2013. Historic photograpy, illuminated manusricpts, paintings, and more. Search the Museum Gateway for content.