GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: Classics: Language & Literature

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Core Resources

The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature by Margaret Howatson; Ian Chilvers (Editor)
Call Number: PA31 .H69 1993 (3rd floor, Main Library)
ISBN: 0192827081
Publication Date: 1993-06-17
Ancient Writers by T. James Luce (Editor)
Call Number: Main Ref PA3002 .A5 1982
ISBN: 0684165953
Publication Date: 1982-09-01
Greek Literature by P. E. Easterling (Editor); Bernard Knox (Editor, Contribution by); W. V. Clausen (Contribution by); E. J. Kenney (Contribution by)
Call Number: Main Ref PA3052 .G73 1985
ISBN: 0521210429
Publication Date: 1985-05-09
The Cambridge History of Classical Literature by Edwin J. Kenney (Editor); W. V. Clausen (Editor)
Call Number: Main Ref PA6003 .L3
ISBN: 0521210437
Publication Date: 1982-03-18

Classical Texts

The Alexander Room has Loeb, Oxford, and Tuebner texts of many core works. The Main Library has a comprehensive collection. Search GIL-Find by author, or browse by call number range.

Online searchable corpora of texts include:

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Texts of Greek literature from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople (1453 CE).
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is funded at the University of Georgia by the William C. Devaux Fund for Excellence in Classics. First-time users need to register for an account in order to gain access to the full corpus.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Loeb Classical Library. Offers introductions, texts, and translations of ancient Greek and Latin writings, making it a key resource for primary sources.
The digital Loeb Classical Library is an online version of the Loeb Classical Library series. This series offers introductions, texts, and translations of ancient Greek and Latin writings, making it a key resource for primary sources. There are more than 500 discrete volumes spanning from Homer (700 BCE) to Bede (700 CE). Most major classical authors are covered and new editions are added each year.
Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Perseus is an evolving digital library and the most comprehensive Classics site on the web.
Produced by the Department of Classics at Tufts University, Perseus is the most comprehensive Classics site on the Web. It makes available a large collection of electronic texts relating to Greece and Rome. These are available in both the original language and in English, with notes and grammatical explanations. The site also provides images and information about the art, architecture and archaeology of the ancient world.

Dictionaries & Lexicons

Latin

Database of Latin Dictionaries (GALILEO)
Dictionaries and various lexica, both modern and ancient covering both single-language dictionaries and multilingual ones. Also links dictionaries to databases of texts and tools for analysing them.
Oxford Latin Dictionary
Main Reference PA2365.E5 O9 2012 and Alexander Room. The most up-to-date completed Latin dictionary; coverage only down to the 2nd c. CE.
Lewis and Short, A Latin Dictionary.
Available online at Perseus. This dictionary is not preferred, as it is somewhat out of date.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (print only).
Main Reference PA2031 .T4. Most comprehensive usage dictionary, with coverage to 6th c. CE.

Greek

Liddell, Scott, Jones, A Greek-English Lexicon.
Main Reference PA445 .E5 L6 1996 and Alexander Room. Available online (older edition) at Perseus.
For examples of use, see the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae, described above under Classical Texts. It does not have definitions.

Grammars

Latin

Allen and Greenough's New Latin Grammar for Schools and Colleges.
Main 3rd Floor PA2087 .A525 1983 and Alexander Room; available online at Perseus.
Anne Mahoney, Overview of Latin Syntax (2000).
Available online at Perseus and included in 2001 reprint of Allen and Greenough.
Hale and Buck, A Latin Grammar.
Main 3rd Floor PA2087 .H168 1966 and Alexander Room.
James Moorwood, A Latin Grammar (1999).
Main 3rd Floor PA2087.5 .M67 1999. For students.

Greek

Weir Smythe, A Greek Grammar for Colleges.
Main 3rd Floor PA258 .S6 and Alexander Room; available online at Perseus.
Goodwin and Gulick, Greek Grammar.
Main 3rd Floor PA258 .G66 1930b and Alexander Room.
James Morwood, Oxford Grammar of Classical Greek (2001).
Main 3rd Floor PA258 .M89 2001. For students.
Goodwin, Syntax of the Moods and Tenses of the Greek Verb.
Main 3rd Floor PA369 .G657s 1876 and Alexander Room; available online at Perseus.
Jeffrey A. Rydberg-Cox, Overview of Greek Syntax (2000).
Available online at Perseus.

Your Librarian