GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: Classics: Foundational Resources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Bryn Mawr Classical Review (book reviews)

Bryn Mawr Classical Review publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies, including archaeology. This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR’s publications, from 1990 to the present.

Bryn Mawr Classical Review

Top Websites

In addition to the Links section of the UGA Classics home page, consider investigating:

AWOL: Ancient World Online
Subscribe by RSS or email. Charles Ellwood Jones of NYU collects open access publications and web resources related to ancient studies.
Ancient World Open Bibliographies
A wiki (and associated blog) collecting open-access scholarly bibliographies on ancient studies topics.
CLASSICS-L
Hosted at Kentucky; searchable archive. Probably the most general and active Classics list-serv, with a pretty high volume of postings about conferences, research questions, and, well, chit-chat.

Core Resources

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Loeb Classical Library. Offers introductions, texts, and translations of ancient Greek and Latin writings, making it a key resource for primary sources.
The digital Loeb Classical Library is an online version of the Loeb Classical Library series. This series offers introductions, texts, and translations of ancient Greek and Latin writings, making it a key resource for primary sources. There are more than 500 discrete volumes spanning from Homer (700 BCE) to Bede (700 CE). Most major classical authors are covered and new editions are added each year.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Classics This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative classical scholarship. Oxford Bibliographies Online - Classics is funded at the University of Georgia by the William C. Devaux Fund for Excellence in Classics.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship.
Oxford Classical Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Online edition of the Oxford Classical Dictionary
In its digital form, the new OCD is a continuously updated and ever-expanding resource that will ensure scholarship remains current and reflective of emerging subfields and perspectives.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin (Editor)
Call Number: Main Ref DE5 .O95 2010
ISBN: 9780195170726
Publication Date: 2009-12-31
New 7-volume encyclopedia, all in English, with good introductory entries. Great for entry-level undergraduates, but useful for more advanced scholars, too.
Der Nueu Pauly / Brill's New Pauly by Hubert Cancik (Editor); Helmut Schneider (Editor); Manfred Landfester (Editor); Christine F. Salazar (Editor)
Call Number: Main Ref DE5 .N48 1996 / Alexander Room
ISBN: 9789004122598
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
English: Alexander Room; German, Main Reference DE5 .N48 1996
Same content, two language options, quite up-to-date. More in-depth than than the OEAGR, above, and provides a good contrast, too, as most of the scholars are European.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor); Esther Eidinow
Call Number: Main Ref DE5 .O9 2012
ISBN: 9780199545568
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
"Completely revised and updated, the fourth edition of this established dictionary offers entries on all aspects of the classical world. With reception and anthropology as new focus areas and numerous new entries, it is an essential reference work for students, scholars, and teachers of classics and for anyone with an interest in the classical era"
The Cambridge Ancient History by I. E. S. Edwards (Editor); C. J. Gadd (Editor); N. G. L. Hammond (Editor)
Call Number: D57 .C252
ISBN: 9780521070515
Publication Date: 1970-12-02
A major 14-volume series surveying the Graeco-Roman world, spanning prehistory to late antiquity.

Abbreviations in Classical Studies

The Oxford Classical Dictionary is useful for standard abbrevations of classical authors and texts. For an online list of abbreviations in the OCD, see: http://classics.oxfordre.com/staticfiles/images/ORECLA/OCD.ABBREVIATIONS.pdf

The gold standard for abbreviations, especially of obscure 19th century periodicals, is Wellington's Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations found in the scholarship of classical studies and related disciplines.
Main Reference PA99 .W44 2003.

Your Librarian

Deborah Stanley

Email Me

Contact:

Research & Instruction Department
Main Library
University of Georgia

dstanley@uga.edu

706 542 0656

Subjects: Classics, German, Philosophy, Russian & Slavic Studies