GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: Classics: Art & Archaeology

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Images for Classics

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Millions of images with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage content. ARTstor includes contributions from museums, libraries, and archives, and has a fair amount of Classical content.
In August 2024, Artstor Image Collections were integrated into the larger JSTOR database. Users can now search both text and images in one search interface.
The ARTstor Digital Library (now on JSTOR) offers more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser (Perseus) This link opens in a new window
The Perseus Digital Library has a searchable gazeteer of ancient art and archaeology images. Its coverage is not comprehensive, but it's a good place to start, and authoritative.

Google Image Search
Not curated, so you'll need to use critical judgment that the images are what they say they are, but there are a lot of good things out there: .edu sites made by faculty, faculty teaching collections in Flickr, and tourist photos of lots of sites and museums.

Core Resources

Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art Online)
An art encyclopedia, including both articles (with scholarly bibliographies and signed, by scholars) and images. Has good coverage of major classical works, artists, and sites.

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites. Main Reference and 3rd floor DE59 .P7. Available online at Perseus.
The place to start for bibliography on any classical archaeological site, up to the date of publication (1974).

Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae. Main Reference NX650 .M9 L40.
Look up a mythical individual and find all ancient references, a modern bibliography, and a catalog of illustrations (reproduced in the plates volume) of the myth in ancient art.

Art & Archaeology Indexes

In addition to the general indexes and article databases for Classics, see:

Dyabola (1956-present) includes citations for books, chapters, journal articles, festschriften and references to book reviews. It is part of Projekt DYABOLA, a collection of visual and bibliographic databases covering classical, Egyptian and Near East archaeology, Byzantine art history, epigraphy, numismatics, classical history and ancient social and legal history. No full text. An excellent complement for art and archaeology to L'Annee Philologique. It has a specialized search interface; these tutorials by Michael Hughes at NYU are helpful.

ZENON - DAI (Deutsches Archäologisches Institut [DAI]) - Open-access version of Dyabola. In addition to containing records for materials held in the nine libraries of the German Archaeological Institute, ZENON DAI indexes journals, Festschriften and conference proceedings. It covers Greek and Roman material culture as well as Greek and Roman history, epigraphy, and numismatics. For a detailed list of Libraries and their available holdings in Zenon, see the Zenon DAI description.

ArtSource (1929-present)
Combining Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete, covering over 630 full-text journals, plus full-text books and over 63,000 images. Indexes articles in scholarly journals and museum publications, with good coverage in Classics.

Your Librarian