Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

Linguistics: Reference Sources Online

Reference sources online

Use reference sources for definitions and overviews as you begin your research.
These are online. We have many more in print which can be found through MultiSearch or GIL-Find.

Reference sources online

Ethnologue.com This link opens in a new window
Descriptions, maps and statistics about languages of the world.
Up-to-date descriptions, maps and statistics about the over 7,000 languages of the world. From the Summer Institute of Linguistics (SIL). The academic subscription does not include the "Premium Maps" feature.
Oxford Handbooks Online in Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Online handbooks for linguistics by Oxford University Press
Oxford Handbooks Online in Linguistics is a digital collection of handbooks published by Oxford University Press containing in-depth, high-level articles by expert scholars in their fields. Each handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed encyclopedia of linguistics research updated monthly.
An ongoing, expanding peer-reviewed encyclopedia of linguistics research updated monthly. Covers all sub-fields of linguistics through the use of summary articles and in-depth articles on particular topics within sub-fields. Overseen by an editorial board of subject experts.

Google Books Ngram Viewer: When you enter words or phrases into the Ngram Viewer, it displays a graph showing how often they occur in a corpus of books over the decades. Selected languages available.

Lexicon of Linguistics: Definitions of linguistic terms.

Linguistic Resources on the Internet: SIL International describes this as "a topically organized list of resources elsewhere on the Internet that may be of interest to the linguist." Covers the principal categories of linguistic research.

Omniglot: The Online Encyclopedia of Writing Systems: A guide to over 180 different alphabets, syllabaries and other writing systems.

Summer Institute of Linguistics Glossary: Definitions and illustrative examples of linguistic terms and concepts.