Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts focuses on the nature and structure of human speech, research in speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language, spelling, phonetics and the pathology of speech, and hearing. This database provides bibliographic citations. Over 2600 journals from 50 nations are reviewed for inclusion, as well as selected books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Online handbooks for linguistics by Oxford University Press
Oxford Handbooks Online in Linguistics is a digital collection of handbooks published by Oxford University Press containing in-depth, high-level articles by expert scholars in their fields. Each handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Peer-reviewed encyclopedia of linguistics research updated monthly.
An ongoing, expanding peer-reviewed encyclopedia of linguistics research updated monthly. Covers all sub-fields of linguistics through the use of summary articles and in-depth articles on particular topics within sub-fields. Overseen by an editorial board of subject experts.
Index to articles and books on modern languages, literatures, film, theatre, folklore, and linguistics.
The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical in literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, film, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. Classical Greek and Latin literature are not covered. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals is now part of the MLA International Bibliography. Included is information on the periodicals that are indexed in the database, plus many more. The Directory of Periodicals data is updated annually.
Descriptions, maps and statistics about languages of the world.
Up-to-date descriptions, maps and statistics about the over 7,000 languages of the world. From the Summer Institute of Linguistics (SIL). The academic subscription does not include the "Premium Maps" feature.
Search and analyze over a dozen language corpora. Users will need to create a free personal account.
Created by a professor of linguistics at Brigham Young University, corpus.byu.edu provides search and analysis tools for more than a dozen of the most extensive and well-known language corpora, primarily for English (American, British, Canadian), with one corpus each for Spanish and Portuguese included. Both historical and contemporary corpora are available, ranging in size from millions to billions of words.