Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

Company Information: Private Company Research

Recomended UGA Libraries databases and resources to assist in researching company information.

Research Tip

Don't forget to use article databases to search for news articles related to your private company. Articles may reveal financial, marketing, and strategy information.

Your Librarians

Profile Photo
‎ ‎‎Humanities & Social Science Team

Private Company Information

Private company information can be difficult to find. These databases have information on private companies. Sometimes more information is found in news and trade publications. Combine a search of these databases with article databases listed below.

Bureau Van Dijk Orbis

Global private and listed company information, standardized for cross-border comparisons including financial data, company profiles, credit risk information, private equity data and portfolios, and links to EIU Country Profiles.
 

D&B Hoovers (formerly Hoover's Online)

Search for company profiles, executives, news, and industry information. Company profiles include business focus, history, competition, SWOT analysis, executive, news coverage, and financial reports. Industry information includes access to market research, industry norms, industry ratios.
 

PrivCo

Provides key financial data, number of employees, company contacts, whether family-owned or private equity backed, M&A history, and competitor lists for private U.S. companies. Amount of data available varies by company. Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database

Researching Private Local Companies

If your project's company is a smaller, local company it may not be in some of the larger business databases. Here are strategies you can use to find information:

Strategy #1: Search for a company website.

Strategy #2: Search databases that contain private company information. Suggested databases:

  • DataAxle
  • PrivCo
  • D&B Hoover's

Strategy #3: Consider using a similar public company as a proxy.

By researching a company that is similar to your own you may be able find analysis that explain key issues that could be affecting your project's company including opportunities and threats, consumer trends, and issues affecting the supply chain.

Strategy #4: Look for news articles in local newspapers and periodicals.