Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Distance Learning Services for Faculty: Research Resources

This guide provides information about library services to faculty teaching online courses at UGA.

Basic Research Tools

Library Home Page : This is the starting point for most library research.  You'll find links to GILFind, the UGA Libraries catalog; GALILEO, a rich collection of databases; links to research help; and more library services.


GILFind (Books & More): The Libraries' catalog lists what the Libraries own and where we keep it. You can also search the holdings of all libraries across the University System.  Click on any title record to get more information and to sign in to your library account and submit a request to borrow a book from another University System library using GIL Express [this service temporarily suspended].  


Multisearch : Find books and articles with a single search.  It searches across many of the individual databases in the GALILEO system as well as our catalog. This is the default search box located on the libraries homepage. 


Individual databases : The libraries home page provides an A - Z Databases list as well as many discipline-based subject guides which list individual databases relevant to a specific discipline.  These databases are part of the GALILEO system, which is a collection of over 400 research databases.

Library of Congress Call Numbers : If your students have difficulty understanding the call number system, instruction guides can be found here

Finding journals

If you have the title of a journal and you want to find out if we have access to it as well as find a specific article in that journal, search for the journal title at the E-journals by Title tab on the libraries’ homepage.  After running the search, it is important to pay attention to the date range covered by the database(s) which provide access to that journal.  To go to the journal itself, click on one of the links.   

You may find that the online coverage doesn't match the year of the article you want.  If that happens you should also search the libraries' catalog for the same journal title to see if we have the print or microform going back to the time period of interest.

E-books

Every day more books are being made available electronically at the UGA Libraries.   To learn more about our E-books, go the E-book research guide.  

Click here to see an alphabetical list of our reference books available in an e-book format.

Distance Learning

John Prechtel's picture
John Prechtel
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department

706 542 3472
prechtel@uga.edu
Website
Subjects:Law

Citing Sources

UGA Libraries Citation Style Guides  provides examples of commonly cited items such as books, articles, databases, and websites from many different citation styles.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab: Research and Citation Sources  This website provides more in-depth discussions of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.