Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Distance Learning Services for Faculty: How do I?

This guide provides information about library services to faculty teaching online courses at UGA.

Place materials on E-Reserves?

The University of Georgia Libraries will place materials on e-reserves for your students so that everyone in your class has quick, easy access to shared course materials. You may request that your online materials be made available through the libraries’ reserves webpage or you may request that materials be linked through your eLC course.  Because this process can be time-consuming, UGA Reserves asks that you adhere to their schedule for submissions.   They also require faculty and graduate students using this service to read and follow the Board of Regents Copyright Guidelines. To learn more about e-reserves at the UGA Libraries, visit the Reserves page.  Any questions should be directed to the Public Services and Reserves Coordinator at mainresv@uga.edu .

Get articles that we don't own at the UGA Libraries?

Our Interlibrary Loan Department will locate and request articles from other libraries for you.  They provide an online request form, and the turnaround time for getting articles is generally a few days.  If you have any questions about the ILL process, please contact that department directly at 706 542-0643 or borrow@uga.edu.

Stream media in my eLC course?

UGA Libraries stream digital content from the Newsfilm and Peabody Awards databases.  If you want to incorporate something from those collections into your online course, you’ll need to create a research account with Special Collections.  You can do this online at The Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection.  Look for the "R" on the lower right corner of the page and fill out the information.  Then, if you need something from Peabody, you can go directly to the Peabody Awards Collection.

At the top or the bottom of the record, click on request program.  You’ll be contacted with an estimate of when it will be available. After the materials is prepared for streaming, you’ll be sent a link.  Please note that some content is available for viewing on campus only. 

Request library instruction for my online students?

You can introduce your students to efficient search strategies for print, electronic, and Web resources by setting up a library instruction session. Instructors may request sessions designed to meet the specific needs of their classes.   You can request synchronous or asynchronous Zoom sessions online, or individual instruction by Zoom or chat.  The form is located here.

Get answers to my copyright questions?

Sometimes it’s difficult to know if a work is in the public domain or if copyright permission is required under the TEACH Act.   It’s important that you ask these questions to protect yourself and the University.   Here is a list of resources which provide valuable tips and guidelines to copyright law:

American Library Association Fair Use and Electronic Reserves

Library of Congress’s Taking the Mystery Out of Copyright

The Board of Regents Policy of the Use of Copyrighted Material in Education and Research

UGA’s Copyright Policy

The University of Georgia Libraries’ Patent and Copyright Librarian, Mariann Samuel, can be reached at 706 542-6643, or via email at mariann@uga.edu .

Find dissertations at UGA? At other Universities?

University of Georgia dissertations from 2001 and later are available electronically and can be found in the database, University of Georgia Electronic Theses and Dissertations.  Many dissertations, prior to 2001, are in a print format only and are stored at the Libraries’ Repository. They can be found by searching the libraries' GIL catalog.  Requesting that a dissertation be retrieved from the Repository generally takes one weekday.   Dissertations from other universities can be found in the GALILEO database, Proquest Dissertations and Theses.   Many dissertations in this database are now available free full-text.  If not, it may be possible to obtain them from the home university library by requesting them through our Interlibrary Loan Department.

Distance Learning

John Prechtel's picture
John Prechtel
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department

706 542 3472
prechtel@uga.edu
Website
Subjects:Law

Make purchase requests for the UGA Libraries?

Collection Development welcomes recommendations from UGA faculty, staff, and students for materials to consider purchasing for the collection. Your suggestions will be evaluated based upon the library's collection development policies and current budgetary constraints.  To request that an item be purchased, complete the online form located at this website.

Create direct URLs for my eLC courses?

You can create a direct link to an article or a database by adding a proxy string to the URL of the electronic resource.   This allows you and your students to go directly to the resource without having to start at the Libraries’ website each time you access the resource.  For detailed instructions on this process, go to this link on the Libraries’ website.  Note: If you are using one of these links off campus, you’ll need to use your MyID (or the GALILEO password) to be authenticated.   

Get Refworks and Endnote training for my distance learning students?

The University of Georgia’s technology fee funds two types of citation management software, Endnote and Refworks.  These programs help researchers store and format citations for the materials used in research.  Librarians are available to teach Endnote and Refwork sessions to your online students.   They are also available to troubleshoot problems and can be reached by phone, email, or chat.   Please note that the training sessions for the software can take as long as one and a half to two hours.   For more information about citation management software, go to this website.