Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Small Businesses: Web Sites

Resources to support small business research in Georgia

Web Sites

Small Business Development Center, www.sbdc.uga.edu/, provides a wide range of consulting, educational, applied research services for small business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs in Georgia including minority businesses.

SCORE, http://www.score.org, offers a host of resources for people starting, growing, financing or managing their business. One of the most valuable services offered is “Ask SCORE,” a database of retired business people who will provide free business advice. You can specify an area of expertise, for example, manufacturing, advanced technology, disaster recovery, or financial services, and also qualify your search by state.

Entrepreneur.com, http://www.entrepreneur.com/, from Entrepreneur  magazine, has a vast array of resources on starting a business, buying a franchise, growing a home-based business, business opportunities, money and finance, sales and marketing, management, e-business, technology, and other topics.

Center for Business Planning, http://www.businessplans.org/, is a resource to assist in writing a business plan.  Also, includes a searchable consultant directory.

YourEconomy.orghttp://www.youreconomy.org/, is an interactive research tool developed by the Edward Lowe Foundation. The website allows users to explore economic activity in their own communities — and across the country. YourEconomy provides detailed information about the performance of businesses from a national to a local level.

The Kauffman Foundation, http://www.kauffman.org/  provides resources on a variety of entrepreneurship sectors, including youth entrepreneurship; minority entrepreneurship; higher education; capital, markets and economics; knowledge, training and networks; and global entrepreneurship. The Foundation has produced a number of key research reports on entrepreneurship, including Where Will the Jobs Come From?; the Kauffman Index of Entrepreneurial Activity, 1996-2008 and the Kauffman Survey: Entrepreneurship and Economic Recovery. Most are downloadable from the website.

Main Street Program, http://www.mainstreet.org/, is a community-driven, comprehensive methodology used to revitalize older, traditional business districts throughout the United States. “The underlying premise of the Main Street approach is to encourage economic development within the context of historic preservation in ways appropriate to today’s marketplace.”

Center for Rural Entrepreneurship, http://www.energizingentrepreneurs.org/, is a program designed to help leaders and citizens in rural communities and regions across the U.S. embrace entrepreneurship as a core rural economic development strategy. The website offers tools, success stories, research, and other resources for supporting local entrepreneurs.

Government Info & Data

 

Data.census.gov (Census Bureau)

https://data.census.gov/

Use the American Community Survey to obtain recent demographic and socio-economic data about the U.S. population  for the nation, states, metro areas, and larger counties.  The Decennial Census provides basic demographic data for the smallest geographies such as census tracts, census blocks, and ZIP code areas. 

County Business Patterns (Census Bureau)

https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/data/tables.html
Provides annual data (latest 2008) on the number of business establishments by NAICS industry and size for all counties in the U.S.

Small Business Administration

http://www.sba.gov/

Gives links to online training in the major areas of small business entrepreneurship including SBA sponsored financing programs as well as information on government contracting and other specialized types of business activity.

Other important government sites

US Patent and Trademark Office

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
John Prechtel
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department

706 542 3472
prechtel@uga.edu
Website
Subjects: Law