Finding Sociology Research - SOCI 1101H - Robinson - Databases & Subject Guides at University of Georgia

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Best Bets

SocINDEX with Full Text
Index and abstracts to articles in sociology.

SocINDEX with Full Text features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles in sociology.

Sociological Abstracts is a primary resource for accessing research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. International in scope, over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations are covered. Records added after 1974 contain nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Included in the database is the searchable Thesaurus of Sociological Indexing Terms.
Social Science Citation Index (at Web of Knowledge)
Major index to articles in the social sciences.

Social Sciences Citation Index is a subset of Web of Science within Web of Knowledge. Web of Science also includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. These databases may be searched separately, in any combination, or all at once.
Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.

Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.

Books

Korgen, K. O. (Ed.). (2017). The Cambridge handbook of sociology. Cambridge University Press.

The UGA Libraries has 5 million books, and 1 million eBooks. We store the location data in our catalog, GIL. You can search GIL two ways. First, by searching directly the GIL Catalog, and second, through the Multi-Search.

Google Scholar and OpenAlex

OpenAlex - A free global index of research literature, journals, researchers and institutions. An alternative to commercial products such as Scopus and Clarivate's Web of Science, unlike these sources OpenAlex is free to access, and the underlying data and source code behind the database is openly available. Includes millions of publications with extra coverage of humanities, non-English languages, and the Global South.

OpenAlex lets you search for research articles, and then see the linkages a specific article has to other research.

Google Scholar - Use Google Scholar while still connected to the Libraries resources! Simply use the Google Scholar search box on our website, or set up off campus access in your profile.

Useful Journals

SOCI 1101H - Robinson

What Articles are Acceptable to Use?

Humanities and Social Sciences Team

Best Bets

Books

Google Scholar and OpenAlex

Useful Journals