SOCI 1101H - Robinson

The above images show some saving option menus (l to r): Web of Science, EBSCO databases, Google Scholar, ProQuest databases

Most resources require that you make an individual account to save searches and references. EBSCO databases will allow you to use the SSO 

It's a good idea to document your search process, as well as your final search terms. Things to note:

• Databases selected, including database provider/platform -- i.e., Did you use the publicly accessible ERIC or the EBSCO ERIC database?
• Date search was conducted
• Controlled vocabulary: descriptors and subject terms
• Limiters
  • General: Date range, peer review
  • Database specific: field codes, unique fields (ex: methodology is a field found in PsycINFO, but is not used in other databases)

A search alert is like saving a search, except with an additional command for how the search is to be re-run. The alert notifies you when the search has been re-run, and delivers only the new results. Usually this is delivered by email or RSS feed.

See a guide to creating search alerts in several databases here.

Citation management programs

UGA Libraries supports EndNote and Zotero. Both of these will:

• Manage citations in a personal database
• Insert formatted citations (both in text and bibliography) into your word processing program
• Change citation styles throughout a document
• Attach files to references (types may vary according to the manager)

If you are a RefWorks user, read about your transition options.