Finding Sources - ENGL 1060H/1101/1102 - Bray - Databases & Subject Guides at University of Georgia

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Viewpoints@UGA Libraries

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles with background information and competing viewpoints on topical issues.
Points of View Reference Center contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue. The content can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers contemporary social issues. providing pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. For grades 6-12.
A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch provides a full-text collection of newspaper, magazine and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press. A broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints is provided through an extensive collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, and news reports.

Scholary Articles@UGA Libraries

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from some peer-reviewed journals as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other sources.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search 30 ProQuest databases simultaneously.
ProQuest Central provides a single search for 30 ProQuest databases. These databases are not included in Multi-Search. Coverage is international and almost all subjects are included with particular strengths in business, medicine, and newspapers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.

Databases by SUBJECT

News & Newspapers @UGA Libraries

Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications.
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Atlanta Journal-Constitution (1883- current) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text contents of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, 1883 - current
Searchable full-text contents of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution newspaper from its establishment in 1883 through the present. The earlier years provide an archive of the Atlanta Journal before its merger with the Atlanta Constitution. See the Atlanta Constitution Historical Full Text database for the pre-merger years of the Atlanta Constitution. Blog and web edition articles are included for recent years.
Red and Black: an Archive of the University of Georgia's Student Newspaper This link opens in a new window
UGA student newspaper, from 1893 onwards.
The Red and Black: An Archive of the University of Georgia Student Newspaper includes archived issues of the newsletter still in production. Covering "matters of interest" at the University of Georgia, as well as the world beyond the Arch, the electronic version of The Red and Black offers access to history in the form of news reporting. Equally informative is the advertising, documenting trends, fashions and daily life.

Other Authoriative Education Sources @UGA Libraries

Diverse: Issues in Higher Education The preeminent source of critical news, information, and insightful commentary on the full range of issues concerning diversity in American higher education.
The Chronicle of Higher Education Academe’s most trusted resource for independent journalism, career development, and forward-looking intelligence.
Education Week Since 1981, Education Week has been America's most trusted resource for K-12 education news and information. 1.6+ million readers. National coverage.

Google Search by web url

Search Google with the key terms and a specific website url:

.gov, .edu, or .org OR .ga.gov, accgov.com

Tips for Searching Databases about any Topic

1. Searching that exact concept

Ex: "#metoo" OR "me too movement"

The newer the concept, the fewer sources there are likely to be!

2. Generalizations of that concept

Ex: consent

Ex: sexual assault

3. Generalizations AND region/time

Ex. consent AND twentieth-century

Ex. women's rights activism AND Georgia

Ex. social media activism AND gender

4. Topic and style of analysis

Ex. consent AND feminism

Ex. consent AND interview study

Credit for the resouces in this box is attributed to Shelia Devaney, UGA HAAS Academic Librarian

ENGL 1060H/1101/1102 - Bray: Finding Sources