ENGL 1060H Databases and Resources - ENGL 1060H/1101/1102 - Bray - Databases & Subject Guides at University of Georgia

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Literary Analysis Databases

The UGA Libraries subscribes to several databases which contain articles and books on the subject of literary analysis and literary themes. Often these articles are scholarly, peer reviewed research studies, so they are helpful in finding your 3 scholarly articles for Project 4.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and books on modern languages, literatures, film, theatre, folklore, and linguistics.
Included in Multi-Search. The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical to literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, film, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. Classical Greek and Latin literature are not covered. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.
Information about the periodicals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography can be found under Browse Periodicals. You can browse or search by title or browse multiple keyword(s) and choose 'relevancy ranked' to find periodicals containing those keywords. Then click on the periodical title in the results list to see information about the periodical. This information comes from the MLA Directory of Periodicals and is updated annually. Note: Detailed information may not be available for every title covered.
LION (Literature Online) This link opens in a new window
Over 350,000 complete works of literature in English with complementary criticism and reference resources.
LION (Literature Online) is a full-text library of over 350,000 works of English-language poetry, drama and prose fiction. In addition to literary texts, LION includes the most up-to-date edition of ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature), 1920 to present; 131 full-text journals; biographical sketches of major writers; the Bibliography of American Literature; and other reference works.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A complete literature reference database featuring biographical, bibliographical, and critical content.
Literature Resource Center is a complete literature reference database, rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. It features:
- Contemporary Authors: selected entries

Studying the time period: Databases for History and Medicine

We have several databases which can help you do research about themes that are specific to this book. For example, the History of Medicine can be researched in our medical and historical article databases.

You can also look at publications from the time period (newspapers, etc) in our historic newspaper databases.

There also may be an academic book about your topic. Don't forget you have access to our Libraries collection of books!

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. In addition, full-text coverage is provided for more than 300 journals and over 130 books. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years. No other history research tool matches its scholarly standards or comprehensive coverage.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences with links to full text.
MEDLINE (with Full Text) combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,000 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. It also includes MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from current biomedical journals, citations from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature.

General Scholarly Databases

Multi-Search This link opens in a new window
Search 130+ GALILEO databases, the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog and the Digital Library of Georgia for full-text articles, books and much more in a single streamlined search!
Multi-Search differs from GALILEO@UGA in that GALILEO requires you to search databases individually, whereas Multi-Search allows you to search a large number of databases simultaneously and view the results in one unified list. You can then limit your results by various criteria. You may still wish to search certain databases individually in GALILEO@UGA, as they contain special features, such as ERIC's Thesaurus.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search 30 ProQuest databases simultaneously.
ProQuest Central provides a single search for 30 ProQuest databases. These databases are not included in Multi-Search. Coverage is international and almost all subjects are included with particular strengths in business, medicine, and newspapers.

The UGA Libraries has 770+ different databases. In addition to the two large multidisciplinary databases above, there are hundreds of databases which aren't indexed in these. It can be useful to look up the databases listed for a specific topic to make sure you aren't missing important information.

Databases by Subject

Academic Books

The UGA Libraries has nearly 6 million books available for you to use. Some of these books are academic in nature, and some are popular. They don't all go through the same editorial process as scholarly research articles. When doing research, make sure the book you're using is rigorous. There are ways to do this:

1) Who published the book? If the book is published by a University Press, then it most likely went through an extensive editorial process.

2) Who wrote the book? Academic books are written by experts in a field. Don't know how to find this out? Google the name of the author or look at the bio blurb for the book. Are they a researcher in this subject? Are they affiliated with a University or Research institute?

3) What was the audience? Academic books are written for other academics, or for students studying a particular subject.

If it isn't a book published by an academic press, written by an expert in a field, and was written with other experts in mind, don't use the book for this assignment.

ENGL 1060H/1101/1102 - Bray: ENGL 1060H Databases and Resources

Literary Analysis Databases

Studying the time period: Databases for History and Medicine

General Scholarly Databases

Academic Books