Databases & Subject Guides: ANTH 3330: Displaced Peoples of the World: Articles in Databases

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Databases

Tips to find articles:

1. Use the " Best Bets" databases. Other recomended sources are:

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch provides a full-text collection of newspaper, magazine and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press. A broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints is provided through an extensive collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, and news reports.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Articles on culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.
Ethnic Diversity Source is a full-text database dedicated to the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in the U.S. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.

2. Use Advanced Search in the database.

3. Enter the key terms: " displaced or refugee or migrant " AND ____________

4. Limit to Academic Journals and/or Scholary/Peer-Reviewed when possible.

InterLibrary Loan
The mission of the Borrowing Unit of the Interlibrary Loan Department is to support the teaching and research of The University of Georgia by obtaining materials not available at the UGA Libraries.

Best Bets

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus is a compilation of the two major anthropology indexes: Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Anthropology Plus is a compilation of Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature. This broad and rich resource provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full text access to American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals.
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides online access to AAA publications including a complete archive of journals published through 2003, seamless access to those AAA journals housed only at JSTOR, and current issues of 11 of AAA's most important publications: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, NAPA Bulletin, and PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review.
Current coverage for additional journals will be added through 2007. Provided by the American Anthropological Association in cooperation with the University of California Press.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. These databases may be searched separately, in any combination, or all at once.
These databases are unique in that the user can search to find which articles have cited a certain author or article. This technique of doing research, called pearl growing, allows researchers to find articles that are related to an earlier work. Often this technique turns up articles which are not found through traditional subject and keyword searches.

*WoS API Key: See "Web of Science Expanded API" entry in Database A-Z List.*

All Databases for Anthropology