Databases & Subject Guides: ANTH 3330: Displaced Peoples of the World: Books & eBooks

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Books, eBooks & More

Finding Books Tutorials@UGA Libraries
Call Numbers Explained
How to find books via the Library of Congress Classification system
Call Numbers Listed By Floor

Search the Discover search box/Catalog for Books & More

Once you have searched the Catalog and found a book that you'd like:
- eBook - access the book online by clicking " Online Access "
- in-print Book - email or write down the Call Number and click on the " Map it " pin tool to locate the item.

The " Map it " pin indicates the item location on the map and provides directions to find the item in the building.

GIL Express
Request and borrow books from other University System of Georgia libraries. All currently enrolled students and currently employed faculty and staff in good standing at UGA Libraries are eligible to use GIL Express.
InterLibrary Loan
The mission of the Borrowing Unit of the Interlibrary Loan Department is to support the teaching and research of The University of Georgia by obtaining materials not available at the UGA Libraries.

Recomended Books & Reference Books

Books about Ethnography @UGA Libraries.

Ethnography by Anthony Kwame Harrison Ethnography familiarizes readers with ethnographic research and writing traditions through detailed discussions of ethnography's history, exploratory design, representational conventions, and standards of evaluation. Responding to the proliferation of ethnography both within and outside of academia, in this book, Anthony Kwame Harrison grounds ethnographic practices within the anthropological principles of cultural awareness, thick description, and embodied understanding. At the same time, the book introduces new frameworks for grasping ethnography's simultaneous strategic and improvisational imperatives, as well as for appreciating its experimental conventions of social science and humanistic research reporting. Central to this process, Ethnography introduces the concept of ethnographic comportment-defined as an historically informed politics of position that impacts ethnographers' conduct and disposition-which serves as a standard for gauging and engaging ethnography throughout the text. Part research primer, writing guide, and assessment handbook, Ethnography provides readers with a comprehensive introduction to one of the richest and most expansive traditions of qualitative research.
Call Number: eBook or Main 2nd floor ; GN345 .H425 2018
ISBN: 9780199371785
Publication Date: 2018-05-14
Ethnography by John D. Brewer * What is ethnography in social research? * To what use can ethnographic data be put? * Who are its fiercest critics? * Does ethnography have a future? Ethnography is one of the principal methods of qualitative research and has a long-established tradition of use in the social sciences. However, the literature on ethnography has become a battleground as ethnography is attacked from within and without the qualitative tradition. Post-modern critics attack the methodological status of ethnography and challenge the importance of its representations of reality, and others argue that globalization narrows its application as localism disappears. Ethnography provides a robust defence of this research method and establishes its continued relevance in the social sciences. It sets out the competing methodological bases of ethnography and details its different uses as a research method. The author offers guidelines for good practice in the research process, as well as advice on the analysis, interpretation and presentation of ethnographic data. Although written as a textbook, the contents are research led, informed by the author's own extensive experience of undertaking ethnographic research in dangerous and sensitive locations in Northern Ireland and elsewhere. The result is a lively and engaging read on an essential topic for both students and researchers.
Call Number: Main 2nd floor ; GN345 .B74 200
ISBN: 9780335202683
Publication Date: 2000

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of World Cultures by David Levinson A basic reference source to the cultures of the world. Provides descriptions of all the cultures of each region of the world or of a representative sample of cultures for regions where full coverage is impossible, as well as accurate descriptions of cultures of the past.
Call Number: eBook or Main 2nd floor ; GN307 .E53 1991
ISBN: 9780816888405
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Aldenderfer, M. S. (editor) Welcome to an entirely online, digital research encyclopedia that will ultimately cover the large and increasingly diverse scholarly world of anthropological research. Its articles will be based on the latest, most significant research and written by active and well-respected scholars within the discipline. The encyclopedia builds upon a distinguished tradition at Oxford University Press of publishing authoritative reference works in fields such as linguistics, American history, social work, and religion.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780190854584
Publication Date: 2018+

Finding a Book Activity

Finding a Book In-Print Activity

Step 1: Access the Discover search box/Catalog for Books & More.

Step 2: Enter key terms and click search

examples: " forced displacement " or "refugee"

Step 3: Limit the search to the following:

Books
Available in the Library
Main Library
Location: 2nd (forced displacement) or 3rd floor (refugee)

Step 4: Select a book entry and:

email the book information to your UGA email
write down the call number

Step 5: Locate the book by call number.

Step 6: Bring to Professor Joseph.