GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: ENGL 2400: Multicultural American Literature(Myers): Books

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Encyclopedias on Racial and Ethnic Groups

Use these encyclopedias to better understand the histories and cultures of groups in U.S. society.

The Reference collection on the first floor of the Main Library has many more reference books. Sample titles include:

Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History (Main Ref E184.M88 E876 2010)

Handbook of North American Indians (Main Ref E77 .H25)

Atlas of Asian-American History (Main Ref E184.O6 .A89 2002)

Historical Statistics of Black America (Main Ref E185 .H543 1995)

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (Main Ref E184 .S75 O97 2005)

Search for books

Start at "Books and More" OR go to http://gilfind.uga.edu/

GIL-Find has many special features to help you find, save, cite and preview your search information.

Narrow results by library, format and location
Save books to a Favorites list (pin symbol)
Send results to a citation manager (EndNote, RefWorks, Mendeley)
If you don't use a citation manager, get a rough citation to cut and paste instead. (MLA, APA)

Some of these features are only available when you are logged into your library account. You will need your UGA MyID information to log in.

eBook Databases

eBook Collection EBSCOhost (formerly NetLibrary) This link opens in a new window
eBooks, general topics, non-fiction, reference, consumer. Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing.
eBooks at EBSCOhost, formerly known as NetLibrary, provides access to electronic books (eBooks), including reference books, scholarly monographs, publications of many university presses, and consumer books that have been converted into digital format. It is possible to perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online. There is currently no checkout period for eBooks (at EBSCOhost).

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books, including reference books, scholarly books, consumer titles, and books from university presses.
ebrary provides access to electronic books (eBooks), including reference books, scholarly monographs, publications of many university presses, and consumer books that have been converted into digital format. It is possible to perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online.

Technical issues with eBooks?

Most issues occur when:

Many people are accessing a book at the same time. EBooks have limits to numbers of users at the same time.
You don't have the third party software needed. Some eBooks require you to user reader software from Adobe Editions.