Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EMAT 3410:Mathematics Teaching and Curriculum in PreK-5th Grade (Sheehy): Citaiton Management

Citation Management

  It's never too late nor too early to start using citation management software! It's free to you and will help you stay organized, making writing much easier. These products will let you easily insert in-text citations AND will create your bibliography WHILE YOU'RE TYPING. These software packages will also format your paper in any of hundreds of formatting styles, including 7th.   Use ONE of these options to store citations in which you have an interest. Clip PDFs of articles to the record in your own database and annotate the records as well. Preparing for your comps will that much easier when you have everything in one place--citation, full text & notes! Visit our page on these software packages and for information on training. Visit our Citation Management page for more details.

 

Do you need tips on avoiding plagiarism? Visit the UGA Libraries' Research Guide on Avoiding Plagiarism  for helpful advice.

Also, make friends with the folks at the APA Style Blog. You can type in real questions and find what is sometimes harder to find in the Manual. Remember that the Libraries have copies of the APA 7th edition and two copies are in the CML. One CML copy does not circulate, and the other does. You really need a copy of your own for those 2:30 am questions....

APA 7th now calls for REMOVING  proxy info from your journal citations. What's a proxy link? It takes the reader to the database where the researcher found the article. Great idea, right? Well, not quite. The proxy link only works for the library to which the link is pointing. If you're not associated with that library, you can't open the link. So, rather than annoy 99% of the reading population, APA just requires the citation info, not the link.  The proxy link will show up at the end of the citation in your bibliography and will usually start with http://proxy-remote....

DOI information remains the same as it has been!

So, how do you get rid of the proxy link?  If you're using RefWorks follow these steps:

  • Open your article in RefWorks and click on the article title.
  • A side panel will open
  • Click on the pencil icon to edit
  • Scroll through the citation & abstract to the VERY BOTTOM of the panel.
  • Look for--IS ELECTRONIC
    • followed by a blue square with a white check mark
    • followed by THIS IS AN ELECTRONIC RESOURCE
  • Click on the check mark and it will disappear
  • SAVE in the TOP RIGHT

For an annotated bibliography use this option;

APA 7th - Sentence Casing, DOI: empty, Annotated

and for a "regular" bibliography use APA 7th - Sentence Casing, DOI: empty

To do this in EndNote, please follow the directions graciously provided by my colleague, Ian Thomas:

*Go to 'Edit - Output Styles - Edit APA'

*Then go to 'Bibliography - Field Substitutions' and uncheck the "If DOI field is empty..." box.

*Save the style and use that when writing your paper. 

This will still include the DOI if it's available but remove the proxy URL's.